Arg Matey! It’s a Pirate party! Part 3 Grub and Grog (food and drink to ye landlubbers)

N and I spent quite a few fun nights scouring the web and Pinterest looking for just the perfect food to serve for his pirate party. Like I have said before I am not sure which is more fun planning a party or having the party. And I LOVE that N loves the planning almost as much as I do.

I don’t think there is a more fun theme than pirates when it comes to food. There are so many creative things that can be done. N and I picked our favorites, but there are tons others out there.

Appetizers:

The appetizers were so much fun. This was my first try at food carving and I was thrilled at how it all turned out.

  • Fish and Chips (Goldfish and Doritos)
  • Pirate Gold (Cubed cheddar cheese)
  • Cannon Balls (Black olives)
  • Pirate Jewels served in a Shark bowl (melon salad)
  • Kraken Dip (Red pepper octopus, black olive eyes & dill dip)
  • Desert Island Veggies (green pepper tree top, carrot tree trunk, zucchini bottom for the island)
  • Sharks Blood punch

Not Your Normal Steam - Pirate AppetizersNot Your Normal Steam - Pirate jewels in a sharkNot Your Normal Steam - Desert Island Veggies Not Your Normal Steam - Shark Blood Punch

Dinner:
Is always a serve yourself affair at my shin digs. I try to make sure that as much as possible dinner can be prepared ahead of time. I even try to store the food in the fridge in the serving bowl. This means more time for me to play with all the kids!

For this party the pulled pork was done in the crockpot the day before. The salsa & guacamole was made the day before. The pasta salad was made the morning of the party. So the only thing that had to be made while guests were there were the hot dogs.

  • Caribbean Pulled Pork
  • Hard Tack – tortillas to ye landlubbers
  • Shiver me timbers salsa
  • Avocado and lime – to prevent scurvy don’cha know (guacamole)
  • Seaweed salad – arg, its just pesto matey (pesto pasta salad)
  • Octodogs or Kraken dogs (Just cut the hot dog into 1/4s but leave the top 2″ intact. When they are boiled the legs will curl up.)

Not Your Normal Steam - OctodogsNot Your Normal Steam - Shiver me timbers salsa15 space
Cake:
The pièce de résistance was the cake. I normally make cupcakes for parties because it makes serving so much easier. But I REALLY wanted to make a pirate ship cake. The problem is N doesn’t like chocolate frosting. So that meant I had to make a “sea” for the cake to sit on. And that meant we could draw a treasure map on the sea.

The sea is one yellow box cake mix in a 21″ x 15″ sheet pan and frosted with one batch of butter cream frosting. The island is a sugar cookie, but you could use crumbled graham crackers.

The ship cake is one chocolate box cake baked in a 9″x13″ pan. The cake was cut in half to make 2 pieces 9″x 6 1/2″. I cut a piece of cardboard to look like a ship and wrapped it in Aluminum foil. I used that as a template to cut the ship. One of the leftover triangle pieces from carving the ship was put on the front to give some more height. The ship took just over 1 can of purchased chocolate frosting.

The decorations for the pirate ship cake included: lifesavers for the cannon portholes, M&M decorations, pretzel snaps for the windows and railings. The cannons were black candles. The mast is just paper on a bamboo skewer.

One hint if you are going to make this, be sure that you put the decorations in the frosting before you put the cake in the refrigerator. Once it goes in the refrigerator the frosting will get hard and the decorations won’t stick.
Not Your Normal Steam - Pirate cake
Not Your Normal Steam - Pirate cake215 space
Inspirations:

Pirate Party Links:

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Fantabulous Food, Precious Parties and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Arg Matey! It’s a Pirate party! Part 3 Grub and Grog (food and drink to ye landlubbers)

  1. Absolutely awesome. These are really helpful ideas, and very creative!

  2. Wendy says:

    Hi! My son’s pirate themed birthday party is a week away and I’d like to thank you for some great ideas! One question I’d like to ask…how on earth did you get the green bell pepper slices attached to the carrot for the palm tree? I was thinking maybe toothpicks? Thanks, and I love your blog!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.