QOV #1 for 2015 – Jelly Roll Race

Normally when I pick out the QOV quilts to work on I pick out ones that have lots of room to play and that I can do fancy custom quilting on because that is what I enjoy so much. However, I almost never get a chance to do all over designs on quilts and I really want to make sure I practice that skill too. So this time when I picked out quilts I tried to pick out ones that were too busy to really see the custom work.

The first one I picked was a variation of a jelly roll race. It was a very cool quilt and really needed an all over pattern. I sampled several different all over designs, and ended up with a loop and star pattern.

005

However for the border I really wanted to do something different. I found a pin from “A Few Scraps” that are a no mark continuous line star that are PERFECT for borders.

004

From the previous pictures you really can see that the quilt is to busy to see the quilting. But… Fear not! The backing was solid red!

QOV Jelly Roll Race - Loops and stars

It was amazing to me how much faster this went than fancy quilting! It was only a few hours to finish the whole quilt. Its good to know I can to simple quilting in case I ever need to.

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.