A Wreath that will Fit You to a Tea

25 days until christmasIt’s going to take me a while to finish the last few gifts that I am working on this year. And I don’t want you to have to wait that long, so I thought I’d share with you some of my favorite homemade decorations and gifts I have made over time.

My step-dad has got to be one of the hardest guys to shop for! The man doesn’t have everything, he has SIX of everything! And if he doesn’t have it, he’ll buy it before you can give it to him. Don’t people know they aren’t supposed to by themselves anything the few weeks before Christmas?!

Last year I seriously had NO clue what I was going to buy for him. When, lo, I was saved by Pinterest!!! A TEA WREATH! Seriously this is THE perfect gift for my step-dad.

  1. Pretty much all he drinks is herbal tea.
  2. After the tea was gone Mom could use it as a Christmas card display wreath
  3. He and Mom had a Christmas wedding and all these years later I had some of the decorations left over, so the wreath would even have sentimental value.

Like I said PERFECT! Here’s how I made it.

Supplies:

  • Foam wreath form
  • Wire ribbon
  • Flat head straight pins
  • Wooden clothes pins
  • Green floral wire
  • Markers or paint
  • Individually wrapped tea bags. I used Bigalow because the bags were nicely colored.
  • Accessory decorations (optional)

Method:

  1. Take your wire ribbon and spiral wrap it around the wreath form.
  2. Use the flat head straight pin to secure it inplace. I used 2 pins at the very start, 1 pin on the outside of each turn, and 2 pins at the end.
  3. Take the clothes pins and color them with your marker or paint them. I used 2 different greens from my Bic marker set.
  4. If you are going to decorate your clothes pins now would be the time. I used holly leaves and berries on each clothes pin. (these were left over from the wedding)
  5. Cut a length of green floral wire big enough to go around the wreath form
  6. Threat the floral wire thru the spring in the center of the clothes pin
  7. Wrap the floral wire around the wreath form. On the back of the wreath twist the wire like you would a twist tie on a bread bag. Cut off the excess wire. I used a flat head pin at the cut end of the wire. I put the every end of the wire under the flat head of the pin.
  8. Repeat 5-7 until you have the number of clothes pins you want.
  9. Use another length of ribbon to make a hanger for the wreath.
  10. I added a bow made from a contrasting wire ribbon and added 2 bells left from the wedding.
  11. Voilà a tea wreath!

Tea bag wreathTea bag wreath

Inspiration:
The Happy Housewife

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Curious Crafts, Terrific Tutorials and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.