Counting Down to Christmas Crafting Style

24 days until ChristmasWhen I was a kid, one of my favorite Christmas memories was opening the doors on my advent calendar. There were so many things to be excited about. You never knew what surprise was going to be behind the door. What was the picture going to be?! What was the saying going to be?! The suspense was almost more than a kid could take.

And even better than the surprise was knowing that with each door that was opened Christmas was ONE! DAY! CLOSER! Getting to have everyone over. Getting to have special Christmas food. And of course getting to open your presents.

I wanted to have that same suspense for my kids. So I decided to make an advent calendar. Of course I found my inspiration on Pinterest. Pink Paislee made an advent calendar using scrapbooking tools and supplies on a cookie sheet! Awesome.

Supplies:

  • cookie sheet from the dollar store
  • Christmas scrapbooking paper
  • ModPodge
  • Ribbon
  • Something to punch holes in the cookie sheet (I used my cropodile)
  • 25 magnets (I got mine in the craft section of Wal-mart)
  • 25 1″ washers from the hardware store

Method:

  1. Cut out 25 circles that are 1″ in diameter.
  2. Decoupage them on to the washers and let them dry.
  3. While the washers are drying cut the scrapbooking paper to fit the inside of the cookie sheet.
  4. Mark a 5 x 5 grid on the paper. I just used a black sharpie marker.
  5. Decoupage the paper to the cookie sheet. Let that dry.
  6. Once the washers are dry, add your decorations. You want to add the decorations BEFORE the magnet in case you use some brads. My brads just fit thru the washer hole. But I would have been out of luck if I had already added the magnet.
  7. Glue your magnet to the back of the washer.
  8. Once the paper on the cookie sheet is dry. Decoupage on the numbers and text. I liked the numbers on board rather than the washers because when there were no magnets it still looked nice. If there were no numbers on the board it would look all plain and lonely.
  9. Punch 2 holes in the cookie sheet. Thread thru the ribbon and tie.
  10. Voilà a advent calendar.

Advent calendar on Christmas DayAdvent calendar on Dec 1

Inspiration:

Pink Paislee

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Curious Crafts, Terrific Tutorials and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

