What do Fairies and Bats Have in Common? Chrismas Presents!

26 days until ChristmasToday marks a milestone! All the kids Christmas presents HAVE! BEEN! MADE! Ok, yea, yea, yea, I still have to fix that pesky upside down bat. But technically I could give it to N as is (yea, I know, I won’t. The engineer-y-has-to-be-just-so side or me won’t allow it).

So what is their last present? Well it’s another inspiration from Ikat Bag. LiEr has some fabulous ideas over there. Both kids are seriously into dressing up right now. Its so much fun to watch them running around in their super hero costumes or tutus and party dresses.

So for M and her cousin I made some fairy wands. And they will go perfectly with the princess dresses that she is getting. For the girls wands I followed the tutorial almost exactly as LiEr wrote it. The only difference was I used spray sealer.

Fairie Wands

And although N would have enjoyed a fairy wand, I thought that a bat signal would be the perfect.

Bat Signal

Now my big challenge is going to be making it to Christmas without giving the kids any of their presents. Mr Steam always teases me that he’s not sure who gets more excited about things me or the kids.

There are two more gifts I have to make. The MOM gifts. I am super excited about the ideas I have for my and Mr. Steam’s mom. But I unfortunately can’t show you them until after Christmas, since they both visit this blog and there will be no doubt in their mind who the gifts were intended for once they see them.

In lieu of that I can show you some of my favorite homemade Christmas gifts that I have made in the last few years. How does that sound?

Inspiration:

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Curious Crafts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What do Fairies and Bats Have in Common? Chrismas Presents!

  1. LiEr says:

    Those are awesome! Especially the batman wand! Thank you so much for the link and for inviting me here to come see what you’ve done with your wands. Whoo!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

