Duck-a-Palooza – Part 2 Food

Welcome back. I hope you got a chance to check out the decorations for M’s 2nd birthday party. So do you want to see what we had to eat? I was so excited about the appetizers that we served.

So many of the ideas came from Pinterest (I LOVE that place!). And I have links to all the inspirations at the bottom of the post.

Appetizer tableOne of my favorite tricks is to use quilting fabric as a table cloth. Its a triple win, I can always find a fabric to fit the theme, it doesn’t get thrown out after the party, and I get more quilting fabric (yeah me!).

Not only does M love ducks but she loves Mel-mo, er Elmo. So I knew had to make these Elmo and Oscar fruit and veggie trays when I saw them on Pinterest. Elmo is made from blueberries, watermelon and cantaloupe balls, with fruit dip eyes. Oscar has black olives, broccoli, carrots and veggie dip eyes. Aren’t they great?!!

Elmo Fruit TrayOscar Veggie tray

The cupcakes were so much fun. I made ducks from candy melt and set them on frosting bubbles. Two of the cupcakes actually had duck candles! Stinkin’ adorable.

The extra candy ducks went on top of blue jello. And I used a duck cookie cuter to make the ducks for the cheese and quackers. Cheesy eh?!

Cheese and Quackers and Ducks on Jello waterDuck cupcakes

The last ducky food inspiration was the duck punch. I don’t have a punch bowl. So I used  large glass mixing bowl, set it on a cake stand and covered it in some blue cello wrap.  The punch WAS alcohol free, but you couldn’t convince the ducks of that!!! They kept falling over.

Drink tableCarne Asada

I skipped the duck inspiration for dinner and went with M’s favorite – TACOS!  Ground beef for the kiddos and Carne Asada for the big people. Sides included: salsa, guac, ranch beans, and Spanish rice. This meal was great for the party everything was made the night before except the steak and veggies which take no time on the grill.

Dang it. Now I am hungry again.

Check back tomorrow for the fun Ducky games we played.

Inspirations / Recipes:

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Fantabulous Food, Precious Parties and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Duck-a-Palooza – Part 2 Food

  1. oh everything looks GREAT!!!
    did you get bathtub ducks? those are made to float……but it all still looks so cute!!

    • Thanks! I was really happy with how it turned out.

      I cheaped out and bought the ducks from OTC. We tried a few tricks to get them to float upright. But if that was the worst that happened (and it was) then I was still thrilled. Plus it made an awesome conversation piece.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.