Duck-a-Palooza – Part 1 Decorations

My daughter M turned two this June.  She loves rubber ducks. And I mean LOVES them. So of course her birthday had to be a duck theme. And since I am her mom, that means the duck theme was OVERBOARD!

There were duck decorations, duck themed food, and duck themed games. To help keep you from overloading on duckiness I’ll split this into 3 posts.

So many parties focus on the dessert table. But I really like the theme to welcome you into the house and be carried throughout the party.  For me it starts with the invitation. I love slider cards so I made a rubber duck in a bathtub slider card.

Duck slider card

The party favors were one of my favorite parts of the party. I love when party favors are things the kids will actually use or play with when they get home. And surprisingly they were super cheap inexpensive.

Duck Favors

  • Basket 2 for $1.00 dollar store – $0.50
  • Bath scrunchie 5 for $1.00 dollar store – $0.20
  • Washcloth dollar store – $1.00
  • Bubble bath bottle Target – $1.00
  • Bubble bath Target $5.00 for 8 kids – $0.63
  • Duck bubbles Target dollar bin 2 for $1.00 – $0.50
  • Rubber Duck OTC 12 for $6.50 – $0.54
  • Paper & Ribbon from stash – $0.00
  • TOTAL = $4.37

Favor table with feather boaThe feather boas were an awesome on line find. So I used those instead of streamers throughout the house. I used some blue fabric out of my stash to drape the table at our entry to help set of the display.

Finally, I cut out many different size ducks and hung them from various places in the house.  Large ducks on the front window, medium ducks over the island, small ducks over the appetizer table.

I love using fabric and paper cut outs to decorate throughout the house. The fabric I can use over for quilting or the next party. And paper I can cut out quickly with my Cricut and is super inexpensive.
Small ducks over appetizer tableMedium ducks over island

But the very best part? Well, that was the look on my daughters face as she walked around the house pointing at all the ducks and yelling “DUCKY!” at the top of her lungs. It was so worth all the work.

Check back tomorrow to see the Duck themed food!

Inspirations:

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Creative Cards, Precious Parties and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.