Dutch Garden

Last year we purchase a new hard side camper and I made both mini steams quilts for their bunk beds. But I never got around to making one for our bed. The space where our bed is very dark, so I wanted something to lighten up and cheer up the space. But at the same time it couldn’t be too light because, well, we’d be camping and it’s going to get dirty.

I knew the quilt would have to use stars. Star blocks are by far my favorite block. But I am not a fan of quilts where every block in the quilt is the same block. I like sampler quilts and quilts that mix it up some.

I also really wanted to be able to do the whole quilt top from stash. No fabric purchased. But quite a while ago I had bought 1/2 yard cuts of about a dozen or more blue and yellow floral fabrics. That should do it. I just would need to find some solid(ish) fabrics to fill in.

And as with almost every quilt that I do I want to try something new. I have never done a dresden plate quilt before and I love them. This seemed like a good place to try them out.

Finally it had to have applique. I love love love applique.

After looking for a patern and hunting thru the internet, I couldn’t find anything that fit the bill. So I started playing around in EQ7. After several (dozens? Hundreds?) attempts, this is what I came up with.

Dutch Garden Layout

I still haven’t decided what I am going to do in the last outer border. I’d love to have solid fabric and then just mimic the applique in the quilting, but I don’t have enough fabric that reads solid to be able to pull that off. So I am going to wait and see what I have left from my yellow and blue stash and figure it out as I go.

 

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dutch Garden

  1. treadlemusic says:

    I love this!!! Blue and yellow will be perfect and I do hope you can figure out a “solid read” fabric for that border!!! Will be following……….

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

