QOV #2 for 2016 – Stars and Feathers

Remember how this year I was trying to pick out QOV quilts to that I could practice some edge to edge and all over quilting? When I picked up this quilt it was still in its bag and I was sure that this quilt was going to be a great candidate for an all over.

1 Quilt top

Not. Even. Close.

All that big wide open blue background. I had to do feathers. I just had to!

The border I decided to do some piano keys coming off 1/2 circle arcs. That fabric was way too patterned for anything to be seen.  On the corners I rayed out the keys. I knew I would never remember how to measure them out when I got to the bottom so I made myself a cheat sheet.

1 remembering border measurements

Even though I was very excited to put some feathers in that big blue space it took me MANY tries to figure out what would work. This drawing was about my 4th or 5th try.

2 Feather design

For as dark as the fabric was it was VERY hard to see the chalk lines. Those white lines on the fabric really proved to be a challenge. I had to concentrate REALLY hard to see.

3 Marking

In addition the pattern made it even harder to get  a picture of how the feathers turned out. Luckily, the quilt was sent with a solid background. Awesome!!!

Feathers

The setting triangles also proved to be a challenge to layout a spine that I liked. After MANY tries I ended up with this. So elegant.

5 marking setting triangles

And then I added feathers. Oh yeah! This quilt could take flight!

6 setting triangle feathers

Here’s a shot of the back. You can see it even better here. Plus you can see how I did the outer and inner borders.

7 border and triangles back

The fabric was really too busy to show up the feathers very well. But, it sure gave GREAT texture. And since the backing is solid, the recipient will get a really cool whole cloth. Two quilts in one. You can’t beat that!

8 texture

 

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to QOV #2 for 2016 – Stars and Feathers

  1. Crazy aka Lori says:

    Steam absolutely beautiful!!

  2. STUNNING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

