52 Pie Challenge is in the Books!

Holly cow! I can’t believe that it’s been this long since I have posted on the blog. Ok, check that, yes, I can believe. Things are always crazy here, but they got really crazy between October and the end of the year. There was a trip to Mexico, a Halloween party, a gingerbread decorating party, a bunch of Christmas presents to make, and there were 14 pies to be made!

Yep, 14 pies. Because, back in March I thought it would be a good idea to see if I could make 52 different pies by the end of the year. The problem was in August I lost my pie mojo and quit. But, I am a sucker for a challenge, even if it is self imposed.

So in December I made 14 pies. Yep, 14 pies in one month. That’s just shy of one pie every other day. Frankly, I think the family will be happy if they don’t see another pie crust for a while.

It was a fun challenge though. And it was quite interesting to come up with pies that the whole family (or at least the majority of the family) wanted to eat. And I was pretty proud that 40 of the recipes were ones I have never tried before.

Here’s the breakdown:

Savory Pies:

  1. Pizza
  2. Broccoli cheese quiche
  3. Ham Cheese quiche
  4. Pasty
  5. Chicken Pot Pie
  6. Spinach Pie
  7. Spaghetti and meatball pie (recipe)
  8. Shepard’s Pie (recipe)
  9. Mini Hashbrown quiche
  10. Asparagus tart
  11. Pizza pudgie pie
  12. Meatball sub pudgie pie
  13. Chicken parmesan pudgie pie
  14. Ham and cheese pudgie pie
  15. Cheese pudgie pie
  16. Caprese pudgie pie
  17. Sausage, potato, spinach and green chili pie
  18. Tomato pie
  19. Chicken and corn pie
  20. Cheeseburger pie
  21. Taco Pie
  22. Steak and mushroom pie
  23. Potato and onion pie
  24. Mushroom and parmesan mini pies
  25. Pulled pork tart
  26. French onion soup tart
  27. Spinach and potato breakfast pie

Dessert Pies:

  1. Banana cream pie
  2. Ice cream pie
  3. Raspberry pie
  4. Lemon meringue pie
  5. Blueberry pie
  6. Chocolate covered strawberry pie
  7. Strawberry rhubarb pie
  8. Chocolate silk pie
  9. Strawberry cream pie
  10. Blueberry and black raspberry crostata
  11. Plum crostata
  12. Lemon meringue pudgie pie
  13. Banana bread and jelly meringue pudgie pie
  14. Blueberry pudgie pie
  15. Cherry pudgie pie
  16. Peach and blueberry pie
  17. Strawberry and Nutella pudgie pie
  18. Cream cheese and jelly (raspberry / rhubarb) pudgie pie
  19. Cherry limeade pie (recipe)
  20. Peppermint ice cream pie with chocolate ganache topping
  21. Mini apple pie
  22. Lemon and raspberry min pies
  23. S’mores Pie
  24. Chocolate mascarpone raspberry pie (recipe)
  25. Whoopie pie

Phew! That was a LOT of pies! And when I told several of my friends that I made it by the skin of my teeth, as the last pie was made on December 31!!! Were they impressed? Nooooo*! They just wanted to know what my challenge was for this year!

*Ok, they probably were impressed. Or just laughing on the inside. I am ok with either.

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Fantabulous Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 52 Pie Challenge is in the Books!

  1. Joy says:

    I know what you mean about your family happy to not see another pie for a while. Pastry’s so rich. I do love pie though! Glad to see you back at blogging. What’s on your frame?

    • Right now I haven’t decided on a New Years resolution. But usually they come to me some time if I don’t fret about it. I do have a bunch of quilty stuff to catch you up on! I should have some posts on that in a few days.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

