Lego Party – Part 4 Food

This was by far the hardest part of the party to keep themed. Usually I am able to find food that can be built into the party theme. Sometimes both the appetizers and the dinner get themed. But this time I was at a complete loss.

There were tons of ideas for making individual crackers with cheese cut in circles to make Lego crackers. Or ideas to cut peperioni into mini pieces put them on pizza then cut the pizza into little Legos. Or make sugar cookies and use little candies to make Lego blocks. But there were 20 people coming to this party (including adults). There was no way I was going to make that much little Lego food!

So, I settled with using food that was either round or block shaped. And then serving the food bowls that were Lego colors.

Appetizers

Lego Party Food

  • Round slices of summer sausage
  • Cheese cut into rectangular cubes
  • Crackers both round and rectangular
  • Mellon ball salad, bonus they were round AND Lego colored
  • Cheese puff balls, seriously these things look like Lego heads
  • Veggies & dip, ok these were neither round or cubed, but they were Lego colors!
  • Ham and cheese rolls. This was the first time I made these, but I WILL make them again! They were AWESOME! You can find the recipe here. I made 2 modifications. 1) I used crescent roll sheets rather than pizza dough 2) I skipped the poppy seeds, I thought the black dots would creep out the kids.

Drinks

Lego Party Food

Of course we had the Steam family standard punch –

  • 1 large container HiC punch (what ever color you need)
  • 4 liters Squirt
  • Ice

And then, erm, a few adult beverages.

I made the cups by cutting out vinyl with the same faces I used for the Lego heads. I am so glad I took the time to make them.

Dinner

Lego Party Food

I usually make the kids favorite food. But this time N wanted pizza. Sa-weet! Less work for me!!! And considering all the decorations that went into this party, a break on the food was a welcome respite! Besides the pizza was round and some of it had round peperoni on it. So that counts. Right?!

Dessert

I love making cupcakes for the kids party. They are easy to decorate. Easy to match the theme. And are SUPER easy to serve! No cutting required!

And do you know how many awesome Lego cupcake ideas there are out there?! TONS! Awesome!

But, for some reason, N wanted a cake! No cupcakes. GROAN!

And he wanted the cake to look like a Lego block. MAN! Do you know how hard that was going to be to frost?!!!

Actually….

It wasn’t that bad.

Seriously, it wasn’t. There’s 3 tricks.

Lego Party Food

Here’s how it goes…

  1. Make two cakes using a 1/2 sheet pan
  2. Cut 1 cake in 1/2 to make the 4 x 3 Lego
  3. Cut the 2nd cake into 1/4s to make the 2 2 x 3 Legos
  4. Frost the 4×3 Lego cake first on the edge of the cake board. Frost all 4 sides and the top.
  5. The 1st trick – OREOS! Frost Oreos for the pips on the Lego. I frosted just the edge of one Oreo. Then I placed it on the cake and frosted the top of the Oreo. I kept going until all the pips for that cake were done.
  6. The 2nd trick – Place the cake in the fridge to harden the frosting. Once it has been in the fridge for about 1/2 hr you can start the next step.
  7. Frost the sides and top of one of the 2×3 Lego cakes on some wax paper or freezer paper. Then I used two big spatulas to pick the cake up off the paper and move it to the cake board. It was very helpful to have a second person to hold down the paper.
  8. Add the frosted oreos.
  9. Repeat for the 3rd cake.

Add in some Lego candles and VIOLA! Food for a Lego party!

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Precious Parties and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

