Lego Party – Part 3 Decorations

The decorations were best part of the party for me. I went CRAZY with decorations. Seriously, people, I had been planning this party for SIX, count ’em SIX years!!! I collected baby food jars (ok really only the baby food jars were the 6 year part), the kids helped collect lids from juice containers, we searched our box collection for just the right shape boxes to make over sized legos.

Baby food jar Lego heads.

First up, baby food jar Lego heads. I had been saving these jars I got from a friend for about 6 years just for this party. For about a month I couldn’t find the jars. Talk about frustrating! To have saved the jars so long and then not be able to find them. About a week before the party, in a place I SWORE I already looked I found them. Mr. Steam had quite the laugh at the happy dance that I did.

I ripped the paper labels off the jars, but, I needed to get all the glue off. So, I soaked the jars in screaming hot water and Dawn dish soap over night. That made the glue pretty soft and I was able to scrape almost all of it off with my thumbnail.

Then I watered down some yellow craft paint. I poured some paint in each jar and kept turning the jar until the paint covered the entire inside of the jar. Then I left them upside down in egg cartons to drain all the excess paint.

Lego Party - Decoration Prep

Once they were dry I cut out Lego faces from black vinyl and mounted them to the outside of the jars.

Lego Party - Decoration Prep

The lids were spray painted with yellow paint. I was pretty happy with the results. I made 10 jars and scattered them in different places around the house.

Paper Lego blocks and heads

I think that I cut about 300 dots for this party. I made two different size blocks and heads.

The large blocks and heads were made from a full 8 1/2″ x 11″ piece of paper. These were created as one sided decorations because I knew they were going to be taped to the wall. The foam sticker dots weren’t big enough to support the large dots. So, I just cut some craft foam into squared and used my tape runner to attach it to the paper.

Lego Party - Decoration Prep

Ms. M thought the big Lego heads were a riot and wanted to copy the faces.

First there’s happy Lego M

Lego Party - Decoration Prep

Then there’s silly Lego M

Lego Party - Decoration Prep

Surprised Lego M

Lego Party - Decoration Prep

And finally angry Lego M

Lego Party - Decoration Prep

The small blocks and heads were made from 4 1/4″ x 5 1/2″ pieces of paper. These had to be made with dots or faces on both sides as they were going to be hung where people would be looking at both the front and the back. And since I made about 2 dozen of the little ones it meant lots and lots and lots and lots and lots of DOTS!!!! Thank goodness for my Cricut!!!

Lego Crafts

I got some really great ideas from Pinterest (are you surprised? really?) to use Duplo blocks for decorating. One was making the silverware and napkin holder from Duplos. And did you know that Duplos fit on a regular Lego base? I didn’t. But when I went to the store to get a Duplo base they told me. COOL! I only build slots for forks, knives, and napkins.

Lego Party Food

The other was to make a placard with the #8 on it. I used large paper clips and ribbon for the hanger. I looped it over a Command hook on the front door.

Lego Party Decorations

While I was building those I decided to build N’s name as a Duplo train. Didn’t that turn out cool?!

Duplo Name Train

Lego Shoe Boxes

Last year for Valentine’s day we make N a Lego card box. They were so easy to make we made 6 of them for the party. 2 blue, 2 red, and 2 yellow boxes. I forgot to take pictures while I was making them. But there’s not much too them, really just 4 things.

  1. Kids shoe boxes. We save those boxes for all sorts of different crafts.
  2. Lids from 2 liter juice containers (milk jug lids would work too). We saved those for MONTHS!
  3. E6000 glue. This stuff is like a combo of rubber cement and super glue. Its glues ANYTHING! And it dries really fast.
  4. Gloss Spray paint. The blue covered in 1 coat, but I needed to use a primer for the red and the yellow, because the text on the boxes kept showing through.

Lego Shoe Boxes

Mega Legos

The last decoration was making mega Legos from the paintings and other framed stuff we have in the house. I wrapped the paintings in blue, red or yellow wrapping paper. Then I used double stick tape to attach paper plates. Depending on the size of the painting I used dinner plates or dessert plates. I can’t believe how awesome they turned out.

Lego Party Decorations

I even wrapped the columns on the front porch! I love decorating the front walk and front porch. It really helps set the stage for the whole party.

Lego Party Decorations

Putting it all together

Between the hanging Legos and Lego heads, the Lego boxes, and the mega Legos. Oh, and of course, the actual Lego creations. The Lego vibe was EVERYWHERE!

Lego Party Decorations

Lego Party Decorations

Lego Party Decorations

Lego Party Decorations

Lego Party Decorations

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Precious Parties and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lego Party – Part 3 Decorations

  1. treadlemusic says:

    Oh my!!!!! You HAVE been prepping for a lon-on-on-ong time!!!! So cool!!!!!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

