Pie Challenge No. 16: Strawberry Rhubarb

My favorite pie for most of my adult life has been raspberry pie. I never found anything that had that perfect combination of sour and sweet, as well as the super bright taste that means summer to me.

Never, until now, that is!!!!!

We have 4 rhubarb stands in the yard. We have TONS of rhubarb each year. And I am always struggling to find recipes to use it. I am not sure why I never have, but I never made a strawberry rhubarb pie. Yea, I know CRAZY!

And talk about fresh. Less than 2 hrs from being picked this pile of rhubarb…..

Fresh rhubarb

ended up cleaned and chopped. It was mixed with strawberries and lemon zest…..

Strawberry Rhubarb pieadded to the pie crust, with a little butter….

Strawberry Rhubarb pie

And baked to result in the best pie I have EVER had!!!!!

Strawberry Rhubarb pieSeriously. I LOVE this pie!!!! Hubs is going to have to freeze batches of rhubarb in the right cut up quantities so I can make it later this summer and into winter!!!! YUM!

Pie Challenge List:

  1. Pizza
  2. Broccoli and cheese quiche
  3. Ham and cheese quiche
  4. Banana cream pie
  5. Mini ice cream pies
  6. Raspberry pie (my fav, or at least it was more on that another day)
  7. Pasty
  8. Chicken pot pie
  9. Spinach pie
  10. Lemon meringue pieb
  11. Blueberry pie
  12. Spaghetti and Meatball pie.
  13. Shepard’s Pie
  14. Mini hash brown quiches.
  15. Chocolate covered strawberry pie
  16. Strawberry Rhubarb Pie
About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Fantabulous Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pie Challenge No. 16: Strawberry Rhubarb

  1. treadlemusic says:

    It is now 6:30 pm, I am at the end of my day and I just read your pie post!!!!! Not goooooooood!!!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

