Floral cabin – Part 3 Progress

One of the reasons I picked the design I did is there was minimal marking needed. I marked the spine using a french curve. I also marked the center line for where the feathers would meet in the middle. Finally, you can’t see it in the picture, but, I marked the corner points for the continuous curve. I marked one row at a time. It only took about 5 min to mark a whole row.
Minimal MarkingNow to put feathers (and curves) to fabric.

Green BlockEach block took 2 passes. one pass for the continuous curve and one pass for the feathers. I used a dark cream thread. Its a little visible on the dark green and dark red fabric, but it blends nice on all the other fabrics.

first rowI love to watch the progress and watch the full character of the quilt build as each component of the quilting is added.

First blockThis is part of why I love the quilting process. The transformation is so much fun.

first rowThe first row is in the books! Now to finish the next four!!!

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

