Floral cabin – Part 1 Quilting Design

My aunt and cousin made a king size quilt and I offered to do the quilting. As usual I had some general ideas, but not a specific design in mind.

The quilt is a log cabin with a pinwheel setting.

Log cabin

I drew out some sample blocks and started drawing. I knew I wanted feathers in the cream section, but what should I do in the colored sections.

1st idea: Double feathers. I really like how it looked, but I think its too many feathers (yes, I really did say that).

Double Feathers

2nd idea: Replace one of the feather sets with some swirls. I really like this one, and it may be a keeper. But, wasn’t quite singing to me.

Feathers and swirls 3rd idea: Feather wreath. And although I really like how it looks. My wreaths still need a lot of work. And being such light fabric you would see all my learning. I think I’ll save my practice wreaths for a busier quilt.

Feather wreath4th idea: Feathers and continuous curve. OH YEAH! That sings to me!

Feathers and continous curvesNow I just need to load the quilt and get started quilting this baby!!!

 

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Floral cabin – Part 1 Quilting Design

  1. I love that you are custom quilting vs a panto. The design process is very interesting!

    • Thanks!!! I love custom. And actually I haven’t tried any free motion edge to edge patterns, only custom since I got my machine. Some day I do need to learn some E2E patterns because I just won’t have time to custom everything. I keep promising myself I’ll try and E2E on my next QOV! Maybe this time i’ll follow thru with that promise! Grin.

  2. Joy says:

    Yes, you’ve hit on it!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

