First Quilt of Valor for 2015 – Designing the Quilting

I got the QOV top loaded on Millie, but I made a deal with myself that I wasn’t allowed to start quilting until I got our taxes ready. Sigh.

But the deal did NOT rule out DESIGNING the quilting!!!! HA! So I printed of a picture of one of the blocks and put it in a sheet protector and blatantly ignored the taxes!

I knew I wanted to do something special in the negative space. But I didn’t want to do any (or at least very little) marking.

I really liked the idea of making a circle around the block.

IMG_1570

But I REALLY REALLY liked the idea of stars radiating from the red blocks. The only issue with this is I would have to mark the star because the only straight ruler I have isn’t long enough do do the whole star. So this one cool as it was, is out! Darn it.IMG_1572

I really liked the cheveron-ish shape in the bottom right. I could do different fills inside the shape. But it felt a little bit like it was competing with the piecing to me.IMG_1577

Diamond feathers. Meh.IMG_1576

Chevrons. So so.IMG_1573

I really kept coming back to the circle idea. Treat the diamonds like sashing. Feathers in the wreath. McTavish as fill? Not feeling it. The corners were calling for something.Designs (5)

Leaves to mimic the leaves in the fabric? YES!Designs (4)

Now to audition it on the actual quilt. So plastic down on the quilt top. Yep. This felt right.Design finalSigh. Now I have no more excuses. I have to go get the taxes done, I really want to get started.

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Quilt of Valor for 2015 – Designing the Quilting

  1. treadlemusic says:

    Time for “dessert” will come!!!! Don’t lose your focus on those taxes!!!!! LOL!!!! Love your plans for it! Will be the perfect/”whipped cream w/ cherry” finish!!!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

