Baby quilt – Airplanes Part 2

Last week I also finished this quilt top.

Airplane Baby QuiltI knew how I wanted to quilt the sky, and borders, but I hadn’t figured out what to do on the clouds. So I didn’t worry about it. I wanted to go back and change the thread for the clouds anyway. So I’d do all the border and sky, and figure out the clouds later.

The sky got some windy swirls. The border got piano keys. I figured you wouldn’t be able to see anything on it anyway since the fabric was so loud colorful. I didn’t do anything on the plane except ditch the outlines.

One thing that didn’t go as planned was the airplane cockpit. Can you see it? Yea. That’s because I FORGOT THEM!!!! So I guess these are drones. Grin.

But I did figure out the clouds. Overlapping spirals. I thought it looked like some of the cloud was in front and some in the back. You know, kinda like a real cloud.

Airplanes - details
I love how much movement the swirls add. I think those plane are going to fly out of that quilt any minute!Airplanes - detailsI sure hope the baby (and dad) like it.

Airplanes
And here’s the back.Airplanes - backNot I just have to find some energy to get these two baby quilt bound and get them off in the mail before the baby gets here!

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Baby quilt – Airplanes Part 2

  1. Joy says:

    This is a great quilt and if you had not mentioned missing cockpits, I would not have noticed. I don’t think the planes need them. Your quilting is the perfect compliment.

  2. t.e.d.d.y. says:

    Wow this is gorgeous!!!! I love it!

  3. treadlemusic says:

    The swirls are magnificent for this cutie!!!! Cockpits or no, those planes are soaring high!!!!!!

  4. Jessica says:

    Would you happen to have the pattern for this quilt?

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

