Rainbow Polka Dots – Baby Quilt

Since I was on a baby quilt binge I made a third one for a good quilty friend of mine that is also expecting. There is a modern quilt pattern that I just love and ever since I made it into a floor pillow cover I have wanted to do a different version as a baby quilt.

I love this pattern. It looks so crisp and fun.

Modern Floor Pillow cover

I knew that I wanted to make it as a rainbow. I was pretty sure that I would have enough bright fabric in my stash that I could use. Alas, I didn’t have any scraps that were big enough. So off to the quilt shop I went.

My plan had been to buy tone on tone fabric that were all different subtle patterns.

At least that HAD been the plan.

Let me tell you what happened.

I often have quilts that talk to me and let me know what they want when they are waiting to be quilted. But I have never had a quilt talk to me while I was picking out fabric. This one screamed at me. I kid you not!

I am not sure how it started but I ended up with all polka dot fabrics. It took about three tries to get all 6 colors just right. And let me tell you, the fabrics let me know.

Eh, I don’t think this orange makes my green look good. Oh and that red, meh. But that blue has just GOT TO GO!

Finally I got all six colors laid on the table and they SANG! It was like a party on the table.

Right until I realized that I needed the sashing fabric. I tried several whites. Some greys. And nothing was working. Then one of the ladies at the shop brought over a tone on tone WHITE POLKA DOT!!!! Just look how great they look together!
fabrics (2)Here they are all laid out how they will be sewn. And yes, I actually fussy cut the white so that the polka dot would be centered.

Polka dot fabricI love how it turned out. But I wanted hubs to hold it out and see. I had planned on adding large dots in the white strip. But wasn’t sure if it would be too much. And, yea, you guessed it, the quilt yelled at me. NOT DONE YET. Yea, yea. I’ll add the dots already.

Rainbow DotsNow that’s what the quilt wanted.

Rainbow DotsNow how to quilt it!

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rainbow Polka Dots – Baby Quilt

  1. Joy says:

    It’s perfect!

  2. treadlemusic says:

    I just LOVE my conversations with my quilts!!!! And I’ve certainly learned that not listening results in tragedy!!!!!! You definitely were of “one mind” with that beauty……let the adrenalin flow!!!!! LOL!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

