2015 Sort of New Year’s Resolution

Well it’s almost the end of February and I still didn’t have a New Year’s resolution. I was really struggling to come up with one that fit what I wanted to do this year. Last year’s resolution was so awesome and worked so well – CHALLENGE.

I wanted to challenge myself to try things that I promised to do someday. I wanted to challenge myself to finish projects that had been started years ago and were currently sitting in a box or bag in the craft cave. I wanted to challenge my self to try new skills. I wanted to challenge myself to start those projects that I had bought the supplies for and just never gotten around to.

And boy oh boy did I ever challenge myself! The results:

  • We made 72 new to our family recipes! That’s almost 1 1/2 recipes a week!
  • I finished 12 quilts! TWELVE! That’s one a month!!!
  • I started 3 new quilts (all of which were finished too!)
  • I painted a painting FREE HAND for the 1st time
  • New techniques included: whole cloth, painting fabric, quilting with contrasting thread, McTavishing, pebbling, feathers, thread painting, and that’s just the ones that I can remember!

PHEW! That makes me tired just looking at all of that!

How would I ever be able to come up with a resolution for this year that could come even close to that in motivating me?

Well, this morning I was reading Lori Kennedy’s The Inbox Jaunt’s post on sewing resolutions and all of a sudden, it hit me!

ENJOY!!!!!!

I really pushed myself last year. But I find myself not being as in the moment as I would like to be. I still want to try new things, I still want to finish long awaiting WIPs, I still want to start new projects, but while doing all of that I want to focus on ENJOYING the time I spend on a task.

I want to make sure that I take the time to ENJOY the time with my kids, ENJOY the time I spend camping, ENJOY the time I spend quilting.

Yep, I think that’s the ticket. Thanks Lori for the nudge!

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

