New Years Food Adventure

The Steam family has a tradition of cooking a time consuming ethnic food that we wouldn’t otherwise take the time to make. This year I had a really hard time deciding what I wanted to make.

After much pondering I chose Mexican. We have done Mexican before, but I so love Mexican food, and Mr. Steam just adores tamales. So, decision made.

I went to my favorite 2 websites for Mexican recipes.

  1. Hispanic Kitchen
  2. Rick Bayless

I decided on three recipes.

Normally I usually fuss with a recipe and make modifications, either because I couldn’t find certain ingredients, or I don’t think a flavor combination will work well. However, in this case, I left everything alone and followed the recipes EXACTLY! I even went to one of our Mexican markets to make sure I could get all the ingredients that I needed.

We made all 3 recipes in one day. There were A LOT of chilies involved!

The molé was incredible. It took quite a bit of time to make, but it makes a HUGE batch. I used 4 chickens worth of legs and thighs. And there was plenty of sauce to use for chilaquiles among other things.

Chicken Mole with rice and beansI was very anxious how the tamales would turn out. Both Mr. Steam and I are very particular about our tamales. I couldn’t wait for them to get out of the steamer and have a taste.

tamales steaming
Oh boy, they didn’t disappoint. These were the best tamales I have ever made (or eaten for that matter). We will definitely be making these two recipes again!
tamalesJust don’t ask me which was my favorite. All three recipes were absolutely delicious! And even better they made enough food for us to freeze several meals worth.

I hope you and your family have a safe and enjoyable New Year!

 

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Fantabulous Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Years Food Adventure

  1. treadlemusic says:

    I think I’ve been “asleep at the switch” here with your posts……I just noticed that, in your last absolutely yummy photo we have the same dinner ware!!!!! Have you checked out the $$$ on these at antique shops or flea markets??? Crazy!!!!!!

    • No, I haven’t and I need to because enough of our have broken I need some replacements. The reason I even got these is there was a box of about 100 pieces for about $50. I had just bought a house and had a super tight budget, but couldn’t pass up a deal like that. I have been using them as my every day dishes for over 15 years.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

