Star Tree Skirt – Quilting

There was only one tree skirt that still needed to be finished. MINE!!!

There were two things I knew I wanted for the quilting on this one.

  1. Feathers!!!!! And LOTS of them. Feathers are my FAVORITE!
  2. A secondary design separate from the piecing. I love quilts where the quilting makes a secondary pattern, but it’s still hard for me to get my brain wrapped around seeing a pattern where there’s no piecing.

Other than that, I didn’t know really what I was going to to. But, I have long since stopped worrying about that. Figuring it out as I go is fun.

My first challenge was getting the quilt mounted. I couldn’t load it to the top roller, there were no straight seams to load. So I would have to do a full float. I have never done that before, but plenty of quilters do it. I would just have to be super careful and make sure to baste as I went.

Loading a star shapped quilt

The first decision was how to quilt the blocks. I didn’t want to do a meander feather by the applique. But I could do feathers on the other side. One thing I love about feathers is they don’t need much (if any) marking. A “V” shaped feather would fit perfectly in this space. So all I marked were the wavy spine and the center line. Marking feathers
Alternating hook and standard feathers. Its easier to see them from the back.Finished feathersNext I needed to figure out how to do a secondary pattern in the center of the quilt. So I drew a secondary star pattern. And filled it in with… y0u guessed it… FEATHERS!

Center Feathers Center Feathers Center Feathers

Once I finished all the feathers I went back and added details to all the instruments.details sax details sax details lyre details bell
The fiddle (or violin if you prefer) is my favorite. Of course I am a little partial as I used to play one.details fiddle

I especially how the back looks. Just pure design without the distraction of color.back (1)

As always I am just stunned how much extra the quilting can add to a quilt top. Here’s the plain top

Star Tree skirt 01Here it is with the quilting.

front

And here is the back where you can REALLY see the quilting.Back whole quilt

I am thrilled with how this turned out. Now I just have to decide what my next project will be. So many ideas!!!!

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

