A Tale of Two Table Runners

Boy this sure has been a busy quilty Christmas season! And I LOVE it!

Do you remember the Holly Tree Skirt that I quilted for my cousin? Yep, I thought you did!

Well, she also sent me two holly table runners to quilt. They were almost exactly the same except one had a white background for the applique blocks and one had a ecru background.

Holly Table Runner
I started with the white one.

Why?

Because it was the one one top silly! Grin.

For a change I actually had a plan for this one before I got it on Millie.

I knew I wanted to do a modern version of holly leaves in the border. I knew they wouldn’t be easy to see because the border fabric had a lot of pattern, but I still wanted to try it.

Holly Table RunnerI thought ribbon candy would work well in the sashing.

But, I knew I wanted to let the applique stand out. I really liked this idea from Ivory Spring. She does wonderful work. If you haven’t checked out her work you should. She has a great program called Thread Talk where she either gives tutorials or lessons she has learned in quilting. I love how the echo and pebbles look against the applique. I also liked the McTavish fill.

Here’s how my version turned out.

Holly Table Runner
I was going for a modern style look. I love how the blocks look. You can’t see the holly leaves (but they were good practice) from the front, so here’s a shot of the back.
Holly Table RunnerHolly Table Runner
15 space

Originally I was going to do the second table runner to match the first one. But when I put it on Millie it screamed for FEATHERS!!! Traditional, elegant, feathers! And who is going to turn down a quilt when it wants feather? Not me!!

No feathers in the border, because well, they would be invisible. But piano keys would add some nice texture and they feel very traditional and elegant to me.

But the red sashing was a solid. So the perfect place for feathers. Micro feathers that is. The sashing was 1″.

Holly Table RunnerI couldn’t decide how to manage the blocks. So I went browsing around looking for some ideas. And found this on Katrina’s Quilting. She has lots of incredible ides of places you can both showcase feathers and sneak them in. I love how the feathers point your eye to the center flower.

Here’s my version:

Holly Table Runner Holly Table Runner

I love how both table runners turned out. I hope my cousin likes them!!!

Next up, the last tree skirt!!!!!!

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Tale of Two Table Runners

  1. treadlemusic says:

    Isn’t Wendy (Ivory Spring) the best??? Way back when I was beginning this journey (approx 4 yrs ago!) I came across her blog…..her early days, too!….and fell madly in love with her ‘feathering’ and dreamed that someday…………………….. I keep practicing and lovin’ it. I had an opportunity to visit with her last Oct. when DH and I trekked to the East Coast. She is a totally lovely person!!!! Your quilting is wonderfully inspiring for me (our ‘style’/likes are somewhat similar)! Hugs…….

    • Yes I love her work, and I am in AWE that she does what she does on a domestic!!!! I actually won her craftsy class. I also love that she is also and engineer, and we share a name (or at least a nickname – Wendy). I would love to be able to meet her in person.

      And thanks for the “inspiring” compliment. That gives me warm fuzzies.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

