Train Tree Skirt – Tension Troubles

I had some time I was supposed to be cleaning the house free time, so I decided to get working on N’s tree skirt after all there wasn’t much left to do. Only about 1/3 of the pebbles needed to be finished and 1/2 of the wind swirls. I figured a good 2 hours and I’d be able to have it DONE!!!!

Right.

Then this happened:
Horrible tensionThis was BEYOND horrible tension. This was NO tension. And do you know when I noticed? Yep, AFTER I finished almost all the pebbling and swirls. A full hour of quilting. Which meant 2-3 hrs of frogging. Gulp. I was in near tears.

What was worse, I couldn’t get the tension correct.

Adjust the top tension. Yep.

Nothin.

Adjust the bobbin. Yep.

Nothin.

Different bobbin. Yep.

Nothing!

Re-thread the machine. Yep.

Nothing!!

Grrrrrrrr…..

Finally I took apart the main tension assembly and brushed it out. I didn’t notice anything wrong. And had just about given up hope and was going to leave it be and come back another day. When…..

PERFECT! BEAUTIFUL stitches!!!!!

Yessirie BOB!

I am thinking that some of the glitter from the fabric got caught up in the mechanism and caused the problems. I have to say that I love how the glitter fabric is looking on the tree skirts, but I am doubting I will ever use it again. That glitter is EVERYWHERE. And when I say everywhere, in the machine. Not good!  Poor Millie will need some serious spa treatment when this skirt is all done.

Well back to ripping so I can get this baby done before Christmas!

Train tree skirt links:

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Train Tree Skirt – Tension Troubles

  1. Joy says:

    Quilting. When everything is working well it’s heaven. When your tension is off, it’s hell. When I saw your photo I cringed. I hope the tension gremlin never enters your home again.

    • Thanks Joy. I have been really lucky. This was only the 3rd time I have had tension problems. 1st time was because I didn’t know heat I was doing and was adjusting opposite of what was needed. 2nd time I was trying some new thread and I think was way to thin for what I was trying to do. But this one was by far the worst.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

