Triangle Tree Skirt – Quilting the Edges

The kids are in bed and Mr. Steam is at work. Which means it’s quilting time!! Time to finish up M’s tree skirt. Or at least get the next step done. The center was done. But there was still quite a bit of unquilted white space next to the trees.
center quilting whole view
And, yet again, I had no idea what I was going to do. This quilt has been doing a really good job letting me know what it needs. So I just sat in front of it for a few minutes. And, yep it started talking.

First I drew out extended “arms” for the stars. And filled them with, you guessed it, pebbles and squiggly lines. I was really happy with how they looked. But there was still to much open space.
Edge quilting stars

I tried drawing out a few designs on paper. But, none of them spoke to me. I wanted something that said winter and Christmas. But I still wanted a modern look. I didn’t think that more angles would work.

But, what if I added some swirls. It could look like a blustery wind. And then fill in any gaps with pebbles. That could be some snow. Yea! That’s the ticket.

Edge quiting fillEdge Quilting detailEdge quilting finishedThat was just about PERFECT!!!!! I loved how it looks. I was able to finish 3 of the 8 trees. I should be able to finish up the rest of the trees tomorrow. Then I’ll have to figure out how to quilt N’s train skirt.

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Triangle Tree Skirt – Quilting the Edges

  1. Joy says:

    I am so impressed with and encouraged by your quilting. This is stunning!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

