Triangle Tree Skirt – Quilting the Center

With all the trees done I needed to move on to the large white space on the center of the quilt. I had been really torn about how to quilt it. So I sat in front of it for about 5 minutes. And then the design started letting itself be known.
Not Your Normal Steam - Designing a tree skirt

I had wanted to keep the quilt modern. And that is what it was asking for. So I got out a ruler and started marking. I started by drawing 3 concentric 8 point stars. I decided to keep with the same elements I used in the trees – pebbles and squiggly lines. The smallest star got a plain stipple, which didn’t keep with the theme, but I wanted the inside to be tight. The next star got pebbles.
center quilting peblesAnd the final star got the squiggly lines.center quilting complete

center quilting

center quilting whole viewYep. Pretty happy with how it was turning out. There was still quite a bit of unquilted white space next to the trees. And I still didn’t know what I was going to do. So, yet again, I slept on it. Tomorrow, maybe the quilt would tell me the next step.

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Triangle Tree Skirt – Quilting the Center

  1. Joy says:

    I love watching the process. You’re on the right track.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

