Triangle Tree Skirt – Quilting the Trees

I decided to start quilting on M’s quilt first, since the quilting design was the furthest along. The quilt has a modern feel to me. So I wanted to keep the quilting modern as well.
Not Your Normal Steam - Designing a tree skirt

I had already design 8 different quilt designs to use in side the trees. All the tree designs were some combination of pebbles and squiggle lines.
trees (3)Not Your Nornmal Steam - 8 Modern Quilt designs15 space
trees (2)Not Your Nornmal Steam - 8 Modern Quilt designs
15 space
The other six look like this. But I forgot to take pictures. So it will have to wait for later.
Not Your Nornmal Steam - 8 Modern Quilt designsNot Your Nornmal Steam - 8 Modern Quilt designs Not Your Nornmal Steam - 8 Modern Quilt designsNot Your Nornmal Steam - 8 Modern Quilt designs Not Your Nornmal Steam - 8 Modern Quilt designs Not Your Nornmal Steam - 8 Modern Quilt designs

There was quite a bit of open space in the center of the quilt. I had been thinking about doing concentric 8 point stars. Something like this:Not Your Normal Steam - Designing a tree skirt
But I wasn’t convinced. And what would I fill it with. N got this really cool gift called a boogie board. I take it borrow it while the kids have swim lessons and try out quilt motifs. Here were some, that I thought I might use.

Holly leaves:Holly quilting concept
Stockings:Stocking quilting concept
Candy canes and wrapped candy:Candy Quilt conceptI decided that I needed to sleep on it. And see what the quilt had to say about it.

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

