Inspiration from a Shirt?

So many quilters post about inspiration in iron work, tiles, wood carving. I have struggled to see it. I couldn’t see quilting motifs or designs except for on quilts. But, the more I quilt the more I see quilts where ever I go.

Tonight I took the mini Steams to the park. The park was pretty busy with lots of kids and parents frantically enjoying some last warm evenings before fall chill hits us hard. The all of a sudden I saw an awesome quilt design. I was staring at it turning my head this way and that. Would it look good with his modification? Could I turn it into an continuous line design? Would it make a better motif or filler?

Then I heard “ahem”

Oh boy! I just realized I had been staring (for quite a while) at a dad’s shirt. I turned about 12 shades of embarrassed.

“Oh, I am so sorry for staring. I am a quilter and I love the pattern on you shirt! It would make a great quilt! Do you mind if I take a picture of it?”

Yep, that seriously came out of my mouth. Gulp.

The dad replies “Cool! It’s actually a band shirt. I am a silk screener. How would you quilt this?”

Ha! The two of us sat there sharing fiber and creation stories. It was great.

So, yep. You never know where your next inspiration will come from.

Oh, and here’s the shirt.

20140924-204407.jpg

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

