Triple Quilting Challenge – FINISHED!!!!!!

I decided to bind the quilt in plain brown. I thought about sewing stripes on the binding with the varigated thread, but I was worried it would distract from the quilt.
I needed a sleeve on the quilt to hang it. Now, what I haven’t told you is I dislike hand stitching. And by dislike I mean ABSOLUTELY refuse to hand stitch. My binding is machine sewn front and back. And as for sleeves, the top gets sewn on when I sew on the binding. And I usually make sleeve wide enough that the bottom can be stitched on in the seam of a border. Alas, this quilt didn’t really have a border that I could use.

So, I had to bite the bullet and hand stitch on the sleeve. I am telling you that if I hadn’t wanted so badly to hang this in my office, I would have changed plans and make it a table topper!

Whole Cloth Challenge - NotYourNormalSteam.wordpress.com
But all that hand work (and seriously it took about 45 min, but it seemed like DAYS!) paid off. And here it hangs in my office.
Whole Cloth Challenge - NotYourNormalSteam.wordpress.com
I love how this quilt looks great at a distance, but close up you can see all the detail and I think it looks even better.
Whole Cloth Challenge - NotYourNormalSteam.wordpress.com

Thanks for taking this trip with me. It has been a fun learning process! I hope you learned something too!

Whole Cloth Quilt Design Process:

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Triple Quilting Challenge – FINISHED!!!!!!

  1. Joy F says:

    Have I got a tip for you! Lee from Freshly Pieced has just done a tutorial for a hanging sleeve that is almost entirely machine sewn. Check it out: http://weallsew.com/2014/08/26/easy-diy-quilt-hanging-sleeve-almost-entirely-by-machine/

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

