Busy as a Quilting Bee

So I know I have been gone for a while, but I promise I have a good reason! No really I do.

I have been learning!

Now what you have to picture is me jumping up and down, clapping my hands like a kid seeing all the presents under the tree on Christmas. Do you have that image in your mind? Ok, then lets try again.

I have been learning!

Oh yeah baby! I got to go to a whole FIVE DAYS of long arm classes! FIVE DAYS! Now do you see why I am jumping up and down???!!!!

I got to take 3 different classes on feathers from 3 different instructors. Each one had a totally different approach and I learned things from each instructor.

I took a feather sampler class from Pam Clarke. She had us do traditional feathers and I have only ever done bump-bump feathers. I was pretty happy with how they looked for my 1st time sewing them.

Feather SamplerBut then I took a feather class with Jamie Wallen. And boy oh boy the traditional feathers started to feel good.

Mystical FeathersAnd yes, I giggled like a little kid when I drew those. They FINALLY clicked!

My last feather class was with Dawn Cavanaugh. On think I have NEVER been able to look good were feathers on a tight inside curve, like a wreath. And all of a sudden THEY MADE SENSE!!!!

Inside curve feathersAnd then I went crazy. How about a double curve?

Inside curve feathers
And since I could do feathers on an inside curve, how about a meander? SURE!!!

Meandering feathers
I have to say my legs were tired after class. You know from all the jumping up and down with excitement!!!!

I would have been thrilled with just that! Oh, but there was so much more!!!! There were different techniques that I had been wanting to learn and try out.

One technique was thread play. Dusty Farrell showed us how to use variegated thread and watch for the color change to make some awesome images.

Thread play

We also did some reverse applique right on the long arm. FUN! I can so see doing this to make some dinosaurs for Miss M.

Reverse appliqueBut my favorite was thread painting. We started with an image outline.

Thread Painting OutlineThen we added yellow-orange-red variegated thread.

Thread PaintingThen yellow variegated, and some red variegated. And ended up with this!

Thread PaintingI love how this turned out. And of course N wants me to make him a car with flames using these same colors and same technique. I really shouldn’t have been surprised.

Another of my favorite classes I took was Drawn to Mastery by Sue Heinz. She started with a really simple sashing design. Like this.
Sashing design
Then she showed us about a million ways to embellish them. (Ok so it was more like dozens of ways, but still it was a LOT!)

And then if that weren’t awesome enough she showed us how to create the designs in a round.
Sashing in a round

Pretty much by the end of the week my brain was FULL! And the ideas of what I wanted to try first were all fighting with each other to get out!

Now I just have to get my whole cloth quilt finished up so I can try out some of these new skills!!!

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Busy as a Quilting Bee

  1. Joy F says:

    I can’t wait to see how you use all this new found knowledge!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

