Triple Quilting Challenge – Part 3 Marking the Top

After finishing the design for my whole cloth quilt it took me several weeks to get the nerve up to actually start marking the quilt. I am not sure why I was so nervous about it, but I was.

Remember this is the design I was working from. But in those several weeks between finishing the design and starting to mark the quilt Miss M had covered the design with dinosaur stickers and then spilled juice on it (see why no white quilts?). So this picture was all I had left. My original plan had been to use a light box and mark the quilt, but now I had to recreate the design.

Whole cloth design

Deep breath. (Ok, several deep breaths).

First I marked the edges of the quilted space and found the center.

Whole cloth markedNext I marked off the border. The tough part was finding a wavy curve that looked good for the center medallion. Two different rulers got the shape I was looking for. You may notice I didn’t leave any space for the feathers on the outside of the medallion shape. I wish I had noticed that. I had to remark the shape AFTER it was loaded on Millie.

Getting a good cable curve that would fit in the border was also a challenge, but I finally got that to fit. On the cables I remembered to leave space for the feathers. How I forgot that on the medallion is beyond me. Sigh.
Whole cloth markedThis is as much as the quilt was marked before it was loaded. After I loaded the quilt top I also decided to mark the circle for the flower centers and the outer boundary of the flowers. I was worried that the flowers would shrink and grow as I went around the quilt. However I did not mark the vines or the leaves. I wanted the quilt to be somewhat organic and uneven.

Whole Cloth Quilt Design Process:

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

