Triple Quilting Challenge – Part 1 Concept

My only New Years Resolution that I made this year was a single word. Challenge. It means a lot of things to me, one of those things is to challenge myself to try things and techniques that have been intimidating to me.

There have been lots of things that I have wanted to try on Millie. One of those things is a whole cloth quilt. I love whole cloth quilts. All the gorgeous quilting uncluttered by distracting piecing. But to have all that focus on your quilting. Gulp.

Plus white in my house is not such a good idea. I look at white and I spill on it. Sigh. But then, who says whole cloth quilts have to be white? Hmmm. There’s a thought.

Another thing that I have REALLY been wanting to do is to PAINT a quilt using some of the Jacquard Lumiere paints that I played with a while ago. And those paints look ever so much more spectacular on black than white. Awesome! No white to spill on!

Lumiere on blackFinally, (well there’s lots more that I want to do, but 3 challenges on one quilt is enough don’t you think?) I have really wanted to use high contrast thread in my quilting. There are so many pretty quilts out there that look pieced with color, but its really just different color threads on a whole cloth. And the ones that I love the best are on a dark color like black. Again – no white for me!

Little bit of a problem though. I don’t like black. Don’t get me wrong, I wear TONS of black, it matches EVERYTHING. And at 5 in the morning that is KEY! But I don’t decorate with black. Blue, red, green, brown, purple – you betcha. Black – no. Hmmm.

Really, though, the quilt doesn’t have to be black for the thread and paint to pop, just a dark color. I planned hanging this in my office and that is burgundy and tan. So a deep chocolate brown would go very nicely and would be dark enough. Perfect.

Now I have the things organized that I want to try on this quilt, it was time to start thinking about what to actually quilt on it. So of course it’s of to Pinterest to start collecting ideas.

Whole Cloth Quilt Design Process:

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

