4th of July Fare – Stuffed Onions

I am always on the look out for new recipes. And if I can make them ahead even better! I had been seeing lots of pins for stuffed onions, and they intrigued me. This seemed like the perfect time to try it.

Ingredients:

  • 6-8 medium onions
  • 2 stalks celery minced
  • 1/2 package frozen spinach thawed and drained
  • 2 c seasoned stuffing bread cubes – or toasted /stale bread cubes
  • 1 c chicken stock
  1. Preheat the oven to 350
  2. Cut the top and bottom off the onion and peel off the skin.
  3. Put the onions in a pie plate and put 1/2 water in the pan. Cover tightly with foil and bake for 30 min
  4. While the onions are baking saute the celery in some butter or olive oil. When the celery has softened add the spinach and cook for 1 – 2 more minutes. Turn off the heat and set aside.
  5. When the onions are done baking uncover them and drain the water.
  6. Once they are cool pull out the inside of the onion. Leave just the outer 2-3 layers. I moved mine from the pie plate to a cast iron skillet because I planned on finishing them on the grill.Stuffed onion NotYourNormalSteam.wordpress.com
  7. Mince up the onion cores
  8. Mix the onion, celery, bread cubes and chicken stock
  9. Stuff the onions until they are mounded. I still had a bunch of left over stuffing because one of my onions wouldn’t fit in the cast iron pan, so I filled in all the holes between the onions with the stuffing.Stuffed onion NotYourNormalSteam.wordpress.com
  10. Bake stuffed onions uncovered for about 25 minutes.

Stuffed onion NotYourNormalSteam.wordpress.comThese turned out even more delicious than I expected. I stuffed the onions the night before and did the final baking the day of the party. It worked out perfect. Love a make a head side.

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Fantabulous Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

