Diggin’ the Dino Birthday Party – Part 2: Decorations

Now that I had the invitations done it was time to start working on decorations.  M loved her invitations, but after looking at them we had this conversation:

M: Mom, my dinosaur party can NOT be pink and purple. It needs to be different colors.

Me (Surprised, pink and purple are her favorite colors): Oh? Well then what colors should it be?

M: Ummmmm…….

Me: How about blue, green and orange?

M (eyes lighting up): YEAH! That’s perfect. Let’s do that!

Why blue, green and orange you may ask. Well, I just so happened to have blue, green and orange dinosaur fabric left over from N’s first birthday party. So I’d be all set for table cloths! BONUS!!!!

With the color scheme set, it was time to get rocking! The first place I went to see what I could do for decorations was my stash of Cricut cartridges. I really wanted to use realistic dinosaurs, rather than cartoon dinosaurs. Unfortunately all I had were cartoon ones from the Paper Doll Dress Up cartridge. Eh well. Ms M would love them regardless. I cut out dinosaurs in two sizes 12″ and about 3″.

The 12″ cutouts were used to decorate doors and the refrigerator.

Dinosaur Party Decorations - NotYourNormalSteam.wordpress.com Dinosaur Party Decorations - NotYourNormalSteam.wordpress.com

The smaller cutouts were used to make banners that hung over the appetizer table and above the stove. These same banners were used to make the favor bags as well.
Dinosaur Party Decorations - NotYourNormalSteam.wordpress.com
Besides the paper cutouts, I raided M’s toy box for all her play dinos and placed those around the house.
Dinosaur Party Decorations - NotYourNormalSteam.wordpress.com
And, lo, here is the orange, green, and blue fabric! NICE! Also at Easter time I picked up some cool speckled eggs.Dinosaur Party Decorations - NotYourNormalSteam.wordpress.com

To me decorations really set the mood for the party right from the start. So I really like to decorate the front walk to set the scene from the very beginning. Dino foot prints and a dino crossing sign fit the bill perfectly.Dinosaur Party Decorations - NotYourNormalSteam.wordpress.com

We also got really lucky and found these fantastic window clings. On one side of the cling is the dino skeleton, and on the other side is the fleshy dino. M loved these!Dinosaur Party Decorations - NotYourNormalSteam.wordpress.com

Finally, I found this awesome idea on Pinterest.

Dinosaur Party Decorations - NotYourNormalSteam.wordpress.com Dinosaur Party Decorations - NotYourNormalSteam.wordpress.comI don’t worry about decorating the back yard, because the game set up really serves as the only decorations that are needed there. And I’ll show you all those next!

Other dino party posts:

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Precious Parties and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Diggin’ the Dino Birthday Party – Part 2: Decorations

  1. Ramya says:

    I just came across this series while researching for my son’s dinosaur 4th birthday. Your party is so awesome. Where did you find the templates for the dinosaur cutouts?

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

