Diggin’ the Dino Birthday Party – Part 1: Invitation

I was so excited when Ms M decided she wanted a dinosaur birthday party. My brain went into overload at the options that we had.

Should it be a paleontology party where the kids dressed up for a dig, and we would search for dinosaur bones?

Should it be a “live” dinosaur party with dino costumes and dino games?

Oh, but even better, what if I could convince N to have a dino party too. It could be the best of both worlds. M could have the “live” dino party and at the end of the party we could have an (fake) asteroid crash. Then 6 months (or millions of years) later N could have the palaeontology party. Eeeek! How awesome would that be?!

Alas, I could not convince N that this was the best idea ever. His heart was set on Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Sigh.

So, back to M’s party. Since I couldn’t decide between paleontology and “live” dinos, I’d just have to do both!

I wanted the invitation to have both “live” dinosaurs and fossil dinos. But I couldn’t find a realistic dino stamp anywhere. So I used some clip art printed on card stock instead. Then I cut them out using Patertrey Ink’s Slider die.
Dinosaur Birthday Invitation - NotYourNormalSteam.wordpress.com

When you opened the slider there was the triceratops skeleton.Dinosaur Birthday Invitation - NotYourNormalSteam.wordpress.comDinosaur Birthday Invitation - NotYourNormalSteam.wordpress.com
Mr Steam and I had a lot of fun coming up with the text for the invitation.

The dinosaurs are all in a roar
Because NAME-a-saur
is turning four!
Help us make history on
DATE HERE
TIME HERE

If you dig dinosaurs,
stomp on over to NAME-a-saur’s house
ADDRESS HERE

It’s going to be a DINO-MITE time,
but it will soon be extinct.
So be sure to RSVP to XXXX.
PHONE HERE
EMAIL HERE

** please leave your large asteroids at home

Since the invitations were hand delivered by Ms M herself we decided to have a little fun with the names on the envelopes as well.
Dinosaur Birthday Invitation - NotYourNormalSteam.wordpress.com

With the invitations done it was time to move on to the party decorations.

 

Other dino party posts:

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Creative Cards, Precious Parties and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

