Spicy Chocolate Pots de Creme

So it all started with Mr. Steam wanting me to make him a Schaum Torte for his birthday. So we made one this weekend. No, it wasn’t his birthday. He wanted me to practice to make sure that it turned out right ON his birthday. Sigh.

Well it turns out that it was a good thing we did practice, because the torte did not turn out very well at all. The crust was almost non existent and it was grainy. Blech!

So now I had 9 egg yolks and no dessert for the week. And I had at least 9 more egg yolks to look forward to with my next try for the Schaum Torte.

So I went out and searched for different recipes that used lots of egg yolks. And to my pleasant surprise I found that Pots de Creme use lots of egg yolks! PERFECT!!! I have been wanting to make those for several years.

Then I found a recipe for SPICY Pots de Creme. EVEN BETTER! I have been really wanting to try making a spicy chocolate dessert for almost as long.

20140408-184804.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 1 c heavy cream
  • 1 c whole milk
  • 1 t instant espresso powder
  • 1 t ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 t cayenne pepper
  • 2 T coffee liqueur
  • 6 oz bittersweet chocolate chopped
  • 6 large egg yolks
  • 2 T superfine sugar (I just ran regular sugar thru my mini food processor)
  1. Preheat the oven to 300 deg F.
  2. Start 6 cups of water to boil.
  3. Put the chocolate into a medium heat proof (glass) bowl and set aside.
  4. In a small sauce pan whisk the cream, milk, espresso powder, cinnamon, and cayenne pepper. Bring to a low simmer and leave for 10 min. Then raise the heat to bring to a boil.
  5. Remove from the heat and add the coffee liqueur.
  6. Poor the cream mixture over the chocolate. Let it sit and melt the chocolate.
  7. While the chocolate is melting, whisk the eggs and sugar in a medium mixing bowl until combined. Set aside.
  8. Whisk the chocolate mixture until it is completely combined.
  9. Take 1 cup of the chocolate mixture and slowly pour into the egg mixture. Stirring the eggs the whole time. This will temper the eggs so they don’t scramble from the chocolate.
  10. Pour the eggs in to the larger bowl of chocolate and stir to combine.
  11. Divide the chocolate mixture between 6 ramekins. Put the ramekins in a casserole pan. Pour the boiling water into the casserole pan until it comes half way up the ramekins.
  12. Bake for 25 minutes.
  13. Remove from the oven. The edges should be set, but the centers will still be jiggly. Let the ramekins cool for about 1/2 hr then cover and put in the refrigerator for at least 3 hrs before serving.

I have to tell you that these are HEAVENLY!!!! This is NOT a super sweet dessert. So, if you are a milk chocolate kind of person this may not be the dessert for you. I am a dark chocolate kinda gal. And I LOVE THESE!!!!! They have a VERY strong chocolate flavor. But, man, does the cinnamon really pop! The chili isn’t strong, but its there. I am almost hoping that the next trial of the Schaum Torte fails too, so I can keep making these. Almost.

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Fantabulous Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

