Greek Dinner – Part 2: Saffron Brown Rice

This recipe was a comedy of errors. First, I was working in the craft cave and had forgotten that I did not adjust the clock down there for the time change. So I was thinking I had an hour before I needed to start dinner. When in fact company was coming over in 15 minutes and I hadn’t started yet!!! YIKES!

Problem 2, I had intended on making saffron rice, but I couldn’t find the recipe I had pinned. But I found this one I had pinned from Sonia Mendez Garcia on Hispanic Kitchen. I have yet to make anything of her’s that wasn’t out of this world. I know this was supposed to go with a Greek dinner, but hey it was a recipe, I knew it’d taste yummy. So it would be a multi-cultural dinner.

Problem 3, her recipe called for Bijol seasoning. I had NO idea what Bijol seasoning was. I have never heard of it. And dinner was SUPER late. I didn’t have time to try and find a substitute. So in went some adobo seasoning (sort of a Latino season salt) instead. The adobo was probably going to drown out the delicate saffron flavor, but at this point I was desperate to get the meal going. **EDIT: Now I find out that it is made from annato seeds, and I had some of those in the pantry, I could have probably just made a packet of them with some cheese cloth. Eh, live and learn**

Problem 4, I had no white rice. But I did have some long grain brown rice. So brown rice pilaf it was!

And this is one of the reasons why Mr Steam teases me that I always follow the recipe “sort of.”

Ingredients:

  • 3 T olive oil
  • 1 1/4 c brown long grain rice
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 t adobo
  • 1 t ground cumin
  • 1 pinch saffron
  • 4 c chicken broth
  1. Heat the olive oil in a sauce pot and toast the rice for about 5 minutes.
  2. Add the onions and heat for another 2-3 minutes until the onions start turning translucent.
  3. Add the garlic and cook for 1 more minute or until you can smell the garlic.
  4. Add the broth and all the seasonings. Bring the broth to a boil, then cover, lower to a simmer and simmer for about 30 minutes.
  5. Test for doneness. Fluff with a fork and serve.

Saffron Brown RiceFor all the trouble I had with this recipe it turned out excellent. Everyone in the family loved it. And my step dad had a HUGE pile of it instead of dessert.

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Fantabulous Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

