Quilts of Valor – Half Square Triangles and Flying Geese

Now that I knew what I was going to do with the borders it was time to figure out what to do with the main blocks. There are two main blocks in the quilts. There are a BUNCH of half square triangles (HSTs) and two rows of flying geese.

One thing that I knew is I wanted the quilting on the quilt to flow and work together. But I didn’t want to do an all over pattern.

I auditioned several different patterns. The patterns needed to work well on both the HSTs and flying geese. They needed to work with the feel of they quilt. And they needed to challenge me!

First I looked at just doing an echo around the seams. Boy, that would be a lot of starting and stopping. More than I wanted to take on.

Echo on half square triangle Echo on flying geeseIf I did a corner to corner bounce that would remove the start and stopping concern.

Corner bounce on half square triangle Corner to corner bounce on flying geeseBut I wanted something that would challenge me more. And the bounce pattern just wasn’t speaking to me for this quilt. I could add some more interest to the bounce with a loop or two. Getting closer.Bounce with loops Bounce with loopsI could do straight loops. Hmmm. Possible.

Straight loops Straight loopsBut, what if I could pull feathers in? After all that is what would be in the borders. The feathers could go on the lighter fabric so they could be show cased more.

Feathers on half square triangle Feathers in flying geese

OH! That was it!!! Now, I practiced them over and over on the transparency until I could repeat them smoothly. How would it look on the quilt though? I put the transparency paper on the quilt.

Feathers on HSTThat WAS IT!!!!!! Here’s how it ended up looking on the quilt.

Feathers on Half Square TirangleFeathers in Flying GeeseWhat do YOU think?

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

