Quilts of Valor – Borders

The first area I had to figure out were the borders and the piano key strip. I looked at lots of different border treatments and settled on swags. I knew that I wanted to put some feathers inside the swags, but what would I do outside the swags? And what to do with the red stripe?

Then I found this quilt from The Quilted Pineapple. I love love love her work. And not only did it solve my delima of what to do with the outside of the swags, but also what to do with those red stripes!

The only problem was I needed to see if I could actually quilt it. But practicing on a white board wasn’t cutting it for me. I had an overhead transparency sheet, but I was worried I wouldn’t notice the edge of the sheet and draw on the actual quilt. So I put some masking tape on the edges as a warning. And it worked perfect. I could draw and redraw and redraw and redraw right on the scale of the quilt.

I was happy with how the feathers, swag and pushed down piano keys.
20140318-195707.jpgI really struggled with the stars. Well not the stars themselves, but rather the transition from one star to the next. I kid you not I could NOT get those darn loops between the stars to look consistent.

Here’s what it looks like on the actual quilt. What do you think? I am pretty happy with it. Oh and the stars? I decided to just stitch in the ditch to get from one star to the next. MUCH BETTER!
20140318-195230.jpg

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

