St Patrick’s Day – Beef and Mushroom Pie

The Irish in me is ashamed to admit that I can NOT stand corned beef. The thought of it even makes my nose wrinkle up a little. So every year I try to find a recipe that we can celebrate St Patrick’s day sans corn beef.

Last year we made hatch green chili. I know, not in the least Irish, but hey, at least it was green, right?!

This year I tried to replicate a dish Mr. Steam had earlier in the month, Beef and Mushroom Pie. The dish he had was different than most recipes I had seen as it had a cream base. So to the drawing board I went, here’s what I ended up with.

Ingredients:

  • 2 lb beef stew meat diced into 1″ cubes, I used and English roast cut
  • olive oil
  • 1 lg onion diced
  • 4 garlic cloves minced
  • 8 oz baby Bella mushroom sliced
  • 8 oz button mushrooms sliced
  • 4 T flour
  • 1 c stout beer
  • 4 c beef stock
  • 1 t dried thyme
  • 1t dried parsley
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 c heavy cream
  • 1 package puff pastry
  • 1 egg
  1. Preheat the oven to 250 deg F. Remove all racks except the lowest one.
  2. Salt and paper all the beef
  3. Heat up an large oven proof pan and put about 1 T of olive oil int the bottom. Brown the beef on at least two sides. You want some deep color on the as that will be giving the sauce the flavor. Brown the beef in batches and be sure to not over crowd the pan. As the beef is done transfer it to a large bowl.
  4. Add a little more olive oil to the pan and sauté the onions until the are soft. When the onions are soft add them to the bowl with the beef.
  5. Add a little more olive oil to the pan and sauté the button mushrooms. Again get some good color on the mushrooms.
  6. Repeat for the baby Bella mushrooms. When those are done add the garlic and cook for 1 more minute.
  7. Add 3 T of olive oil to the pan. Add the 3 T of flour and whisk. Cook for two minutes to remove the raw flour taste.
  8. Poor the beer into the pot slowly while whisking.
  9. Add the beef stock, seasonings, and the beef,onions and mushrooms from the bowl. Bring the mixture to a boil.
  10. Cover and put in the oven for 1 hr
  11. Meanwhile cut each sheet of puff pastry into 4 pieces. Place on a baking sheet (or 2) and brush with the beaten egg. Cover the pastry with a damp towel.
  12. After the beef is done, raise the oven temp to 400 deg F and put the puff pastry in for about 15 minutes or until it is golden brown.
  13. Add the cream to the beef and stir. Taste for seasoning and adjust as needed.
  14. Serve in a bowl topped with one of the puff pastries.

20140316-191310.jpg

Mr. Steam usually doesn’t like anything cooked with beer. I am banned from putting it in our chili. And he refuses to eat my cheese soup if I add any beer to it. But this, this he ate. And LIKED it. The kids about inhaled their portions. And the only reason I didn’t have seconds was I wanted some later this week. YUMMO!

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Fantabulous Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

