Quilts of Valor – Deciding on a quilting design

I am so excited. Last week I got my first quilt top from the local Quilts of Valor chapter. I jumped up and down squealing when I got the package. I was so excited to be able to do something for the brave men and women who have served our country.

At the same time I was so nervous holding the package. What kind of quilt top would it be? What quality would the piecing be? What style quilt would it be? Would my quilting be able to live up to the quilt top?

But excitement won out and I ripped open gently opened the package. And just grinned from ear to ear looking at the top laid out. What a wonderful quilt. Beautiful piecing. I am telling you those corners are sharp enough to cut! A great mix of applique and piecing work. And LOTS of fun spaces to quilt.

Quilt of Valor

After I got over the soothing colors and wonderful layout and started analyzing it for potential quilting methods. As I looked at it I broke it up into several different sections in my head:

  1. Borders – Blue border, piano keys, and red border stripe
  2. Half Square triangles
  3. Flying Geese
  4. Focus blocks – applique and pieced accent blocks

I was likely going to do a different quilt pattern in each of those sections, but I wanted the quilting in those different sections to flow and coordinate. I wanted to stay true to the rustic feel of the quilt.

So of course I headed out to my quilting pin boards to see what I could find that would inspire me. It took me a good 2-3 days to really decide what I wanted to do in each of the sections.

Tomorrow I’ll share with you some of the ideas I auditioned and why I rejected or kept them.

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

