3 meals in 2 hours – Chicken Alfredo Bake

It was a crazy busy weekend so I needed FAST and EASY meals to cook for this weekend. I only had a few hours to get all the cooking done for the week. And worse, I was totally uninspired on what I should cook. URG!

The only thing I had to go on was N wanted something taco and M wanted something with noodles and I wanted some kind of soup.

I found a recipe that looked interesting for a chicken alfredo lasagna. After looking at the recipe it called for jarred alfredo sauce, no thanks. And cottage cheese. Double no thanks. Don’t get me wrong, I like cottage cheese, but not in my lasagna.

The other problems was lasagna’s are way to labor intensive for the amount of cooking time I had. But, with a few modifications I could make it into a bake. Hmmm. That sound good.

So after throwing away the recipe and starting from scratch, here’s what I ended up with.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 c unsalted butter (1 stick)
  • 1 large onion diced
  • 1/2 c flour
  • 7 c milk (your choice on fat content, we used 1%)
  • 1 dash nutmeg
  • 1/4 t fresh ground pepper
  • 1 t kosher salt
  • 6 to 8 oz Romano grated
  • 1 lb mozzarella grated
  • 1 jar marinated artichoke hearts drained
  • 4 chicken breasts or 1 rotisserie chicken shredded
  • 1 lb penne pasta
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 deg F
  2. Cook the pasta to al dente
  3. While the pasta is cooking, melt the butter in a large pot (I used our dutch oven)
  4. Saute the onions in the butter until they are transparent
  5. Add the flour and whisk for 2 minutes until the raw flour taste has been cooked out
  6. Slowly whisk in the milk in to the onion and flour mixture.
  7. Add the nutmeg, salt and pepper to the sauce.
  8. Bring this to a boil which will let the sauce thicken.
  9. While the sauce is coming to a boil cut the artichoke hearts to bite size pieces.
  10. Once the sauce has thickened turn off the heat and add the Romano cheese stir until it has completely melted.
  11. Mix in 1/2 the mozzarella cheese and stir until it has completely melted.
  12. Taste the sauce for seasonings and adjust.
  13. Mix in the artichoke, chicken and pasta.
  14. Pour the mixture in to a lasagna pan. I used a roasting pan. There was no way all that food was going to fit in a 9 x 13!
  15. Bake in the oven for about 25-30 minutes or until bubbly.
  16. If you like your cheese a little browned, put under a broiler for a few minutes after its done baking.

Chicken Alfredo BakeI have to admit that I wasn’t sure how this would turn out. Or how the kids would like it for that matter. But it was DELICIOUS!!!!! Everyone had seconds (and some of us had 3rds).

I had wanted to throw in some more veggies, like maybe some mushrooms, or spinach, or roasted red peppers. But I knew the kids would not be happy with that. Feel free to add in what ever veggies float your boat. Maybe next time I’ll add some broccoli or cauliflower.

Tomorrow, meal #2 – Taco Bake

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Fantabulous Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

