Valentine Trifecta! Berry Loved Cupcakes

I hope you all had the Valentines day of your dreams. The Steam’s are going to celebrate tomorrow. But I thought I’d get a head start by making the dessert tonight. Unfortunately, as of this morning I really had no idea what I was going to make. But I was totally inspired by a conversation with a co-worker about a dessert he makes with a chocolate form and mousse. It struck a cord in my head.

That was all I needed to get started. So I hit my valentine pin board and I found three ideas that I have been wanting to try. And how cool would that be to knock of 3 pins at one time? A Valentine trifecta!

I wanted a dessert that would be loved by both the adults and the children, so of course that means cupcakes. And I have seen a million pins around using a marble in the cupcake tin to make a heart cupcake. Mr. Steam couldn’t figure out why I asked where our marbles were. Ms M was convinced I had lost my marbles and told everyone so. The mini-steams thought it was great fun to put the marbles in the trays.

Berry Loved Valentine Cupcakes

Both of the minis had assignments for what needed to be put in the mixer. It takes a LOT of concentration to get all the water IN the bowl!Berry Loved Valentine Cupcakes

The only hard part about making these was getting the right amount of cupcake batter. I filled them a LOT less than I normally do. That marble takes up a surprising amount of volume.Berry Loved Valentine Cupcakes Berry Loved Valentine Cupcakes

Then I told them about part 2! Icing using Mr. Steam’s homemade raspberry jam. Oh yeah! They were excited. (Ok, N thought it was crazy. Can you tell?)
Berry Loved Valentine Cupcakes

And part 3? That’s where the candy melts came in. I got out some freezer paper and made some valentine shapes to decorate the cupcakes.  You could also use wax paper or a silicone mat. The nice part of using wax paper is you could draw what you wanted on a piece of paper and put the wax paper on top. That way you could make a more complicated shape. But I doodled enough hearts in my notebooks in high school, I didn’t think it would be a problem. *** Note: Be sure to make more decorations than you will need. Just in case any break (or they get eaten). Just sayin’***Berry Loved Valentine Cupcakes Then it was time to make the berry frosting. I saw a pin for some blackberry frosting and thought it would be even better with our raspberry jam. It sure turned out a gorgeous shade of pink.

Her’s how the first ones I ended up making. I was so pleased with how they turned out.Berry Loved Valentine Cupcakes

I think the Mini-steam’s were impressed too.Berry Loved Valentine CupcakesThese weren’t too bad to make. I made the candy toppers while the cupcakes were baking. And they went pretty fast. I had planned on taking them outside to let them harden up, but by the time the last cupcakes came out of the oven they were solid just from sitting on the counter.

I couldn’t resist a few more pictures of these. I can’t wait to try one tomorrow to see if they taste as good as they look.Berry Loved Valentine Cupcakes Berry Loved Valentine CupcakesInspiration:

  1. Valentine pin board
  2. Dessert pin board
  3. Berry frosting
About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Fantabulous Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

