Valentine Box – Semi Love

I am not sure who was more excited about this craft (I say that a lot don’t I?). I saw this on a pin from Tangled and True for a Semi Truck valentine box and knew it was the perfect for N. When I showed him the pin, his response was priceless:

“MOM! Can we make that?!”

Music to this crafty mom’s ears.

I had the perfect tissue box to use and we found a box to use

We of course had to modify it to make it more N-like. So he and I started to work on Cricut Craft Room. First I drew a box the same size as the large tissue box. Then N and I started laying out the images we wanted to include. For the most part the design was all N, with just the occasional suggestion from me. We decided to do the two sides different. Flames on one side and 4×4 on the other. With tire tracks flanking the hearts.

valentine semi box from Not Your Normal Steam

Once we got the design nailed. I covered the boxes with white paper. Then we started cutting and assembling. N wanted the truck to have a back door that slid up. I REALLY didn’t want to figure out how to make that. So I talked him into having a fold down door. And that was the perfect place to put more tire tracks for where the cars drive in.

valentine semi box from Not Your Normal Steam
I used two heart brads and some bakers twine to make a “latch”.
valentine semi box from Not Your Normal Steam
I love how the front turned out. Shimmer red paper and silver brads for the headlights. Shimmer silver paper for a grill. And some hearts for a windshield. N said that the windshield wipers had to be on the windows like they were cleaning.valentine semi box from Not Your Normal Steam
The tires are out of dark sliver glitter paper and heart brads for hubcaps.
valentine semi box from Not Your Normal Steam
And there’s the proud designer. He can hardly wait until Monday when he gets to bring it to school.
valentine semi box from Not Your Normal Steam

Inspiration:

  • Cricut cartridge – Dude
  • Cricut cartridge – Craft Room Basics
  • Tangled and True – Truck Box
About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Curious Crafts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

