Valentines a Crafters Dream

`I loved school valentines. Being able to give a card to each of my friends. Deciding who in class got each specific card. Getting home and opening all of the cards from my friends. LOVE LOVE LOVE valentines.

This year N is old enough to be able to write out the Valentine cards himself. And he loves to make things himself. So I asked him if he wanted to make his own this year or buy them from the store.

“I think I want to make them this year Mom”

YIPPIE!!!!!!!

So off we went to Pinterest. N looked through all the different homemade cards.

“Mom, I want to make all of them. Can we make all of them?”

Oh, if only, child of mine. If only.

He finally settled on crazy straws. So off I went to the store. You can get the straws at Wal-mart in the party supply aisle, 6 for $1. I also got clear favor bags 20 for $2. I printed out the labels for the front of the “card.” And that my friends was bout the last thing I did as far as putting these valentines together.

I pulled out all of my patterned valentine-ish paper. But N decided he wanted heart embossed paper. Yep a boy and his crafty tools. N LOVES to use his my Cuttlebug.

20140205-201028.jpg
And he was very proud of his paper.

20140205-200937.jpg
He folded the paper in half. Stuffed a straw in the bag. And started stapling away.

20140205-201006.jpg
And that my friends is when I got kicked out of the room.

“Thanks for helping Mom. But you can stop watching now. I know what I am doing. (Pause) Are you going to leave?”

Sniff. Sniff. When you teach them you have to let them go.

20140205-200852.jpg

20140205-200831.jpg

20140205-200916.jpg

20140205-201126.jpg

Yep. He makes a mom proud. Not bad. And just wait until you see the card box that he and I designed. (Rubbing hands together in gleeful anticipation).

Oh, in case you want to make these…

  • Straws – Walmart party aisle 6 for $1
  • Favor bags – Walmart party aisle 20 for $2
  • Paper top – were cut 4″ x 5″ (I did this part)
  • Front stickers – printed out on Avery full sheet labels then cut out with the Cuttlebug using circle Nestabilities dies.
  • To / From labels – N put his name on one mailing label and his friends names on a different mailing label and stuck them to the back. That way if he made a mistake, he could just start a new mailing label.
About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Creative Cards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

