Tex-Mex food adventures Part 1: Refried Beans

Tex-mex and Mexican are my FAVORITE foods to eat. So often though I rely on canned products such as enchilada sauce or refried beans. But after my trip to Mexico City and all the wonderful from scratch food that I ate, I really want to challenge myself to make more of the bases from scratch.

So this weekend I took on part of that challenge – THREE, count ’em,1, 2, 3 new recipes.

First up, refried beans from scratch. I love refried beans. I love them with melted cheese on top. I love them on tostadas. I love them in enchiladas. There are sooo many things you can do with them.

I have heard so many people say that they taste so much better when you make them from scratch. So what the heck, lets give it a try.

I worked from the recipe from Homesick Texan. I love, love, love her recipes. Everything I have made from her blog has been a winner.

And seriously a recipe that starts by sauteing onions and garlic in bacon fat has got to be good right?

Refried Beans from Not Your Normal Steam

And soaking the beans with salt pork and onions can only be yummy right? (yea don’t judge by this picture, not the most appetizing. But trust me, VERY worth it.)
Refried Beans from Not Your Normal Steam
However when I mixed the beans into the sauteed onions I became a bit skeptical. I really like my refried beans to be pretty smooth. How the heck was I going to be able to get these beans to the right texture?
Refried Beans from Not Your Normal Steam
But with enough elbow grease and enough bean broth they were just perfect. And the flavor was AMAZING!!!
Refried Beans from Not Your Normal SteamFor a change I actually followed the recipe exactly. Well, ok I did make one change. I added 3 cloves of garlic instead of 1. I don’t know how to cook with just 1 clove of garlic.

I will absolutely be making this again. I will probably still use canned beans in a pinch. But these are definitely worth the extra work.

Ah but, the beans were just one part of this delicious meal. Tomorrow I’ll tell you about the Chilies Rellenos. OH BOY they were ALSO amazing.

Inspirations:

Homesick Texan – Refried Beans

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Fantabulous Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

