New Years Resolution – More of a Mantra

I hadn’t set a new year resolution for myself. I don’t usually set resolutions. And if I do, they are more of a guideline for myself. I don’t even remember what my resolution was last year.

This year it has been very popular to set a single word resolution. I like that idea. Simple, powerful. But what could I possibly use?

So far this month I have really challenged my self to try something new. I tried lots of new recipes. Homemade marshmallows. Homemade scones. Homemade butter. Homemade hollandaise sauce.

I have also challenged myself to be creative with what I have instead of buying new. From last week’s cooking challenge to use what I had on hand, to making the tree skirts with only on hand materials.

I have challenged myself to start projects that I have wanted to do for a long time, but never made time to do.

And I have had a great time doing all of these things. Most of them the mini-Steams have also gotten involved. And still talk about some of the things we did at the beginning of the month.

Well there ya go. I think I nailed it CHALLENGE.

There are so many projects that I have gotten the materials for, I just need to accept the challenge and make them!

There are soo many techniques that I haven’t done. I just need to accept the challenge and try them.

There are so many recipes that sound so yummy. I just need to take the plunge and cook them.

Yep. I think that’s a good one.

Today’s challenge was getting all the blocks on the the log cabin tree skirt THE RIGHT WAY! Yesterday I shared with you the problems I had with getting the blocks set correctly.

Today I sat down determined that I would get the blocks all set. Its amazing what you can do when you accept the challenge (and when you aren’t totally exhausted)! I am thrilled with how it turned out thus far.

20140116-201717.jpgAnother challenge I am accepting on this is to applique over my pretty log cabin blocks. A good friend of mine, fellow quilter, and blogger puts applique on top of her piecing all the time. You should go check out some of her work over at Butterfly Angels Quilting. I always love the results when she does that, but I haven’t been able to cover up all my piecing work.

Well this time I made sure to use a plain fabric. And I. AM. GOING. TO. DO. IT!

The red fabric has gold musical instruments on it. So I am thinking a different instrument on each block. But as with all my projects, I won’t really know until it’s done!

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

