Tree Skirts: Bumps in the Road

So I have been simultaneously working on all three tree skirts. And two of the three skirts have run into some minor bumps.

Ms M’s skirt top is done. It is just waiting for the other two to be finished so I can load all three on to the same backing fabric on Millie.

The train skirt was making great progress. I have 6 of the 8 train cars / engines completed (but you don’t get to see them until all 8 are done). And both Mr. Steam and N are impressed with how they are turning out.

The problem is, I am making up the applique pattern myself. That means I need a good side view of each car / engine. Most steam engine photos are taken at an angle so that you get a good view of the front and side of the engine at the same time.

I do have one or two good side view shots of the engine and tender, thanks to the engines owners. But, once I blow up the image to the size I need it looses definition and I haven’t been able to make a good tracing.

SOO Line 1003Part of the problem is like a lot of steam engines, the 1003 is ALL BLACK. So once you blow it up the lines get blurry and it’s hard to see where the engine stops and the wheels start. Not to mention all the various other parts of the engine.

So, I was putzing around one day and found EXACTLY what I needed. A SCHEMATIC of the engine and tender. Perfect. It was a black and white line drawing.

Now I am in business.

The 3rd tree is for our family room tree. And is an 8 pointed star with log cabins set between the points of the stars. Here is the image that is my inspiration.

Log Cabin Tree SkirtI decided to change the colors some. The star portion would be green. And the log cabins would be gold and burgundy.

I got all the log cabins done and assembled the star. Then I took a deep breath and put in the first log cabin block. Its a Y seam which I can do, but I don’t do them often, so I had to think about it hard.

The first one had a SMALL pucker. But I wasn’t too worried. You won’t be able to notice it after it gets quilted. (The wrinkle in the picture is not the pucker, that’s just because I took this picture in a hurry and didn’t lay out the top flat first.)

So I let out that breath I had been holding and got started on the 2nd one. I tried something different to get rid of the pucker. I was pretty sure it would work. But for some reason I was having a hard time lining up the block so it would be oriented correctly. So, as I am getting ready all thru my head is:

MAKE SURE YOU PUT THE RED ON THE OUTSIDE.

THE RED HAS TO BE ON THE OUT SIDE. THE YELLOW SHOULD BE ON THE INSIDE OF THE POINT.

MAKE SURE YOU GET IT RIGHT, YOU DON’T WANT TO RIP OUT YOUR Y SEAM.

Then after sewing I held it up. And sure enough. I got the block opposite. But, hey that’s ok. I can make it a pattern. Just alternate the red out, then yellow out. That would actually look nice.

I knew I wasn’t going to use holly leaves and berries for the applique, but I wasn’t sure what I was going to use.  The burgundy fabric has all musical instruments on it. I could do alternating applique pieces on the blocks. Maybe a circular horn on one and a bell on the other. Yea! That’s the ticket!

See it’s not a bump. Its a design enhancement!!!!

So another deep breath and get ready to put in log cabin #3. Same mantra in my head.

MAKE SURE YOU PUT THE RED ON THE OUTSIDE.

THE RED HAS TO BE ON THE OUT SIDE. THE YELLOW SHOULD BE ON THE INSIDE OF THE POINT.

MAKE SURE YOU GET IT RIGHT, YOU DON’T WANT TO RIP OUT YOUR Y SEAM.

Maybe I should have changed my mantra. Because, yep! I turned the dang block SIDEWAYS!!!

Sigh. I haven’t yet decided if this is another design enhancement (not likely) or if it is getting ripped out (pretty likely).

Regardless, with that many mistakes it was time for a break. Besides it was time to pick up the mini Steams.

 

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

