Culinary adventure – homemade butter

It is super cold out. And by super cold, I mean -14 deg F WITHOUT the windchill! When it’s that cold, it gets tool cold in the basement. Which means no adventures for Steam in the craft cave. But, adventures in the kitchen help heat up the house! So, game on!

I have been wanting to try making homemade butter for some time now. Earlier this week I saw a show with homemade scones and homemade orange honey butter. And that, my friends, was all the encouragement that I needed.

Right after that there was an episode with homemade blueberry muffins. Alright already. I’ll make some butter!

The recipe I used for butter was an orange honey butter recipe. The recipe was seriously lacking directions. So I used several other sources and included what I did here.

The recipe called for putting the bowl in the freezer. But being that we are having sub-zero weather, I decided to just put it outside for a while.
20140105-111935.jpgThe recipe was pretty simple to follow. Put some heavy creams, honey and orange zest in the mixer and set it on high.

First the cream broke. You know that “Oh dang it” moment when you take your whip cream too far.
20140105-105545.jpg

Then little butter granules started forming and separating from the butter milk. This took about 20 min in the mixer.
20140105-105536.jpg

The recipe said that you needed to wait for the butter to make a single ball, it didn’t seem like it was going to do that. So once the butter chunks looked like butter, I put some cheese cloth in a strainer over a bowl. I poured the whole thing into the strainer. I rinsed out the butter in some cold water. Pressed out the water and put it in a bowl.
20140105-105556.jpgWe tried the butter first on some plain bread. And it was delicious.

Once the butter was done I used the mixer to make some homemade blueberry lemon muffins. They were awesome with the butter.
20140105-105625.jpg
I also made some scones. The recipe called for dried cherries and almonds, but I am not fond of that flavor profile, and I had some pecans and dried cranberries on hand. The scones would not come together with the amount of cream called for, I had to double it. I also didn’t have turbinado sugar, so I just dusted the top with regular sugar. Mr. Steam doesn’t like scones. He calls them hockey pucks made from flour. So he was reluctant to try these. But he likes them. Wahooo. Success.

Oh and the juice in the picture? Well the 3 recipes used the zest from 2 lemons and one orange, but none of the juice. I really didn’t have anything planned for them. So I made some orange-lemonade. It was delicious.
20140105-105612.jpg
Now that we have finished breakfast its time to make some chicken noodle soup and chicken enchiladas. Yummy!

Links to recipes:

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Fantabulous Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Culinary adventure – homemade butter

  1. ldome says:

    I Love making scones, I found a technique that works really good with all kids of frozen fruits and fun things. If you intrested Its the Amercia’s test Kitchen Blueberry scones recipe,theres even a video, you can do all sorts of things with this recipe. and it turns out great everytime

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

