New Years Food Adventure #2 – Eggs Benedict with Easy Peasy Hollandaise Sauce

Happy New Year everyone! The Steam house has a very laid back New Years. One New Years eve we have a nice dinner as a family, a fire in the fireplace and watch a movie or two. We wish each other a Happy New Year and go to bed. We have completely given up staying up for midnight for two reasons.

1. We would ALWAYS fall asleep before midnight and wake up sometime about 2 or 3 am.

2. It doesn’t matter what time the kids go to be they ALWAYS get up at 6:30 am.

So there is just no point in torturing ourselves. Besides our fun is on New Years Day when we get to have fun with cooking adventures.

Since we did our cooking adventure a few days early I decided to have another cooking adventure (or two).

My very most favorite breakfast to order when we go out to eat is eggs benedict (unless I am in Colorado. Then its anything smothered in green chili!). In fact, it is how I judge a restaurant.

I have made hollandaise sauce from a package before and really decided there is just no point. The sauce always has an off flavor and just doesn’t have the right texture. So I had given up making eggs benedict at home.

That is until this morning. I decided that it was the prefect morning to make homemade hollendaise sauce.

I looked at several recipes this morning to find one that I liked. They all had varying amounts of egg yolks and butter. And most of them called for cooking the egg yolks over a water bath and beating in the melted butter. Phew, that just sounds like too much work. I swear I remembered seeing a show where they made the sauce in a blender. So, I decided to try it in the blender anyway.

OHMYGOSH it is so easy. And the flavor…HEAVEN! The texture, perfect!!!! I may now be too spoiled to ever order it in a restaurant again.

Ingredients:

  • 3 egg yolks
  • 2 t lemon juice
  • pinch of cayenne
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 c unsalted butter melted (1 stick)

Directions:

  1. Melt the butter in a sauce pan
  2. Meanwhile separate the egg yolks into a blender. We won’t be using the whites, you can save them for something else.
  3. Add the lemon juice, cayenne and salt to the blender and blend until smooth.
  4. Once the butter is melted, turn the blender on and slowly pour in the melted butter while the blender is running.
  5. Continue blending until the mixture is light yellow and thick. 1-2 minutes.
  6. You need to keep this sauce warm or it will get to thick. So you need to either make this very last, or keep it in a thermos.

Viola! You have delicious hollindaise sauce. Simply pour over your eggs, or serve a top some steamed asparagus. Delicious!!!!

Here’s my New Years Day breakfast. A smoothie, some coffee, and PERFECT eggs benedict. I think this may be my NEW New Years Day tradition!

Not Your Normal Steam - Easy Hollandaise Sauce Not Your Normal Steam - Easy Hollandaise SauceLater today we have one more food adventure to share with you. The mini-steams are busting at the seams to try it.

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Fantabulous Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

