New Years Cooking – Cornish Pasties!

Last year I told you about our New Years tradition. I love our tradition. Each year we make some ethnic food that we wouldn’t normally make because it takes too much effort.

Mr. Steam’s favorite is the Cornish Pasty (pronounced pass-tea). And if he had his way we would make them EVERY New Year. But we negotiated that we would do them every other year.

Well, this year is the year of the pasty. And the recipe we have makes between 18 – 22 pasties depending on how full we make them. Yea, I know, that’s a lot o’ food. But pasties freeze wonderfully. We reheat them in the toaster oven and you wouldn’t be able to tell they weren’t fresh made.

This year making the pasties was MUCH easier. My mom got me a bowl to make stuffing.  The bowl is HUGE! She got it at a restaurant supply store, and it was just barely big enough to make a batch of pasties.

Not Your Normal Steam - Cornish Pasty

So off I headed to the grocery to get all the supplies I needed. And yes, I cheat an buy my pie crusts. It would be a heck of a lot cheaper to make my own crusts. But after all the dicing of veggies I just don’t have the patience to make and roll out pie crust.
Not Your Normal Steam - Cornish Pasty
And yes, ALL of that has to get diced up. To about 1/4″. If you dice it any bigger the veggies make holes in the pie crust. One year we tried the pasties with shredded veggies but we just didn’t like the texture at all.
Not Your Normal Steam - Cornish Pasty

Both Mr Steam and the mini-Steams helped peel potatoes and I got started dicing. We put the diced potatoes in water to keep them from getting brown. Then once everything else is diced we drain them and mix them in.
Not Your Normal Steam - Cornish Pasty
Oh you thought the potatoes were in the big bowl? NO! That’s just a regular sized mixing bowl (see the potato bowl in the back?). Next it was the carrots turn. Again the mini-steams got in on the peeling action.
Not Your Normal Steam - Cornish Pasty
Onions are the part that I have the most fun with. This years batch of onions were extremely potent. And once the crocodile tears started so did the silliness.

Sniff sniff, I just love family traditions. I could just cry. Sniff sniff, you guys really need to give mommy more hugs so she doesn’t cry. Sniff sniff, that movie sure was sad.Not Your Normal Steam - Cornish Pasty

Then comes the secret ingredient – RUTABAGA. Yep, as far as I am concerned its just not a pasty with out them. Some folks leave them out. Some use turnips. But we have to have rutabaga.

Then comes the meat. Just a little bit. Ok, a lot. But hey these are meat pies after all.Not Your Normal Steam - Cornish Pasty

Then the potatoes were drained, seasonings added and everything was mixed up. That was a two person job. The bowl was full up to the BRIM.Not Your Normal Steam - Cornish Pasty
Then its time to fill the pasties. Add some egg wash and put them in the oven.Not Your Normal Steam - Cornish Pasty

And a bit later you have pasty yumminess coming out of the oven.Not Your Normal Steam - Cornish Pasty

Pasties are great to make in the winter because they are based on winter friendly root vegetables. And the best reason. You can wrap them in foil and cool them down in the snow!Not Your Normal Steam - Cornish PastyPasty recipes are closely guarded secrets in most families. I would love to share ours with you, but I promised the person who gave us the recipe that it had to stay a secret. However, there are lots of recipes out there. I have searched out several that are pretty close to our recipe and most of them are much smaller quantities (which for most people is probably desired).

Other Pasty Recipes that are similar ours:

Whatever your New Years traditions are I hope you are having a safe and happy New Year.

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Fantabulous Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

